Chinelle Henry makes a comeback as West Indies announces squad for T20 series against India

The ODI series happening in the Caribbean between the hosts and India women just wrapped up.  India won the final ODI and sealed the series with a victory. Following the completion of ODI, there are 5 T20s to be held in St. Lucia and Guyana.

India v West Indies
India v West Indies. Pic Credits – @ICC/Twitter

West Indies just announced their squad for the T20 series. Chinelle Henry makes a comeback to the side as she was ruled out after suffering a concussion in 1st ODI while saving runs near the boundary. Shakera Selman too is set to make a comeback after being out on a precautionary note, to avoid any injuries. Britney Cooper who suffered from a bruised shin while she played in the ODI’s has not made it into the T20 squad.

“Following the ODI series, the majority of the squad has been retained,” said Ann Browne-John, West Indies’ women’s selector. Adding-“Chinelle Henry will hopefully be fit and ready to go again after being sidelined through concussion after the first ODI, Shakera Selman will bring her experience to this team to add more firepower to the bowling attack. The team has always had good performances in T20 matches and this series is vital preparation for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.”

India and West Indies will lock horns in 5 T20Is starting from 9th November to 20th November. This is an important encounter keeping in mind the upcoming T20 world cup in Australia. Both the teams will play their best in order to groom their best playing 11 for future ICC tournaments.

West Indies Squad: Stafanie Taylor (c), Anisa Mohammed (VC), Aaliyah Alleyne, Afy Fletcher, Shakera Selman, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Chinelle Henry, Stacey-Ann King, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Shabika Gajnabi, Shermaine Campbelle, Sheneta Grimmond

Also Read:  Deepti Sharma erupts! Gets a career best bowling figure

India Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Mansi Joshi, and Arundhati Reddy.

Source : ICC

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here