Women’s T20 cricket included in Commonwealth Games 2022

The Commonwealth Games Federation has confirmed the inclusion of women’s T20 cricket in the 2022 Commonwealth Games to be held in Birmingham, England. A total of eight teams will compete in the women’s T20 cricket event and all the matches will be played at the Edgbaston cricket ground.

Women's Cricket in Commonwealth Games
Women’s Cricket in Commonwealth Games

Chief Executive of International Cricket Council, Manu Sawhney said, “This is a truly historic moment for women’s cricket and for the global cricket community, who were united in their support of this bid.”

“Women’s cricket continues to go from strength to strength, and we are delighted and honoured the Commonwealth Games Associations voted to include Women’s T20 cricket at Birmingham 2022,” she added.

Cricket was last played in the Commonwealth Games in 1998 in Kuala Lumpur where South Africa won the Gold in the men’s 50-over competition.
Commonwealth Games Federation President Dame Louise Martin said, “Today is a historic day and we are delighted to welcome the sport of cricket back to the Commonwealth Games.”

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Also Read:  Nain Abidi is all set to tie the knots
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here