Kate Cross calls for a fair assessment of points system in Women’s Ashes

The first-ever Women’s Test series between England and Australia was played in 1934, however, it was only officially named the Ashes in the year 1998, when an autographed bat was burned before the first Test at Lord’s. It began with only a Test series ranging from 1 to 5 Tests.

Since 2001, it was reduced to a 2-match Test series. The Ashes were eventually converted into a multi-format series in the year 2013 under a points system. The recently concluded Ashes series was the 7th edition of the multi-format series. In this article, we will have a look at England pacer, Kate Cross’s views on reassessing the points system in the Women’s Ashes.

Alyssa Healy with the Women's Ashes 2023. PC: Reuters
Alyssa Healy with the Women’s Ashes 2023. PC: Reuters

Currently, Australia is the dominating side in the Women’s Ashes. England last won the Women’s Ashes way back in the year 2013, which was also the first edition of the multi-format series. A Test match carries four points, while the ODIs and the T20Is carry two points each. In case there is a tie in terms of the scoreline of the Ashes, then the trophy is retained by the previous title winner. It was a historic series as it was the first-ever five-day Women’s Test match in England.

We witnessed a thrilling, edge-of-the-seat contest right throughout the series, a constant back-and-forth between these highly competitive sides. England lost the Test match and the 1st T20I and found themselves in a knockout situation. However, the home side scripted a spirited bounce back by clinching the T20I series and leveled the Ashes scoreline (6-6) by winning the first ODI at Bristol, raising the hopes of the home side to regain the Ashes title from their arch-rivals Australia.

Also Read:  Review of Aviator App
Kate Cross celebrating a wicket against Australia. PC: Getty Images
Kate Cross celebrating a wicket against Australia. PC: Getty Images

The Women’s Ashes witnessed record-breaking crowd attendance and viewership throughout the series, and the competitiveness displayed on the field from both sides managed to pull in massive support from the crowd. England eventually clinched the ODI series by winning the 3rd ODI at Taunton. Despite the fact that the home side went on to win the T20I series and the ODI series, after losing the one-off Test at Trent Bridge, they failed to regain the trophy as the Ashes series was tied with a scoreline of 8-8, and as per the points system the Ashes trophy was awarded to Australia on the basis of them being the champions last time around.

England all-rounder Nat Sciver-Brunt played a pivotal role in helping her side seal the ODI series. “We have won more games but, Australia has retained The Ashes. I don’t know whether they need to look at it but I’m sure there will be conversations because five days makes a big difference.” England pacer Kate Cross on the need to reassess the points system which is currently being used as the deciding factor for the Ashes.

(Quotes sourced from Sky Sports)

Liked the story? Leave a comment here