Mumbai to host U19 Women’s Tri-Series between India, West Indies and New Zealand

The inaugural edition of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC’s) Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place early next year in South Africa from the 14th to the 29th of January. The tournament will have a total of 16 teams compete of which 12 gained direct qualifications and the other 4 have come through a qualification process.

U19 World Cup Trophy
U19 World Cup Trophy. PC: Getty Images

The 12-team bracket sees Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa (hosts), Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, and the United States in the mix. The 4 nations who’ve joined the 12 are United Arab Emirates (UAE) from the 6-team Asia qualifier, Indonesia from the bilateral East Asia Pacific (EAP) qualifier, Scotland from the bilateral Europe qualifier, and Rwanda from the 9-team, Africa qualifier.

The Broad of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) eyeing a successful tournament in their debut edition of the U19 World Cup, has announced a packed schedule for the India U-19 women’s sides in the lead-up to the mega ICC event. Apart from the recently concluded, domestic, T20 Trophy there also is a 4-team domestic T20 Challenger Trophy to follow.

A bunch of players are then scheduled to play an Under-19 Quadrangular series featuring India A, India B, West Indies and Sri Lanka. Then follows a 5-T20 game bilateral series against New Zealand U-19 and just around the same time it’s now learned that there’s a Tri-Series planned featuring U-19 sides from West Indies and New Zealand who’ll play games against India A and India B teams.

The BCCI has approached the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) to host the Tri-Series games. These matches will be played at the DY Patil Stadium and BKC Ground and the Tri-Series is likely to be squeezed in the 7-day gap between the Quadrangular series and the Bilateral series.

Also Read:  Passionate female cricket fans seek umpiring roles in Pakistan

The historic, first-ever edition of the U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup is to be played at Benoni and Potchefstroom in South Africa early next year. The schedule revealed by the ICC sees 41 matches to be played across 15 days.

The 16 teams constituting 11 full ICC members and 5 associate teams have been split into four groups. The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six League stage, where teams from Group A will play against Group D and Group B will compete against Group C.

India placed in group D are scheduled to play South Africa on the 14th of January, the United Arab Emirates on the 16th of January, and Scotland on the 18th of January in their inaugural edition league stage fixtures at the ICC Women’s U-19 T20 World Cup.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here