Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Bengal enter Quarter-Finals of Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

The 2022-23 Indian domestic cricket season for senior women’s teams got underway on the 12th of October with the 14th edition of the Senior Women’s T20 League. The tournament that sees Railways as the defending champions, after 8 days and 122 games has its final 8 of the 37 participating teams who’ve confirmed their berth in the Quarter-Finals. Below we’ve prepared a report on all of the 3 Pre-Quarter Final games from the day.

Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Bengal enter Quarter-Finals of Senior Women's T20 League 2022-23
Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Bengal enter Quarter-Finals of Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

Pre-Quarter Final 1 : Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

Tripura – 113/8 (20.0)
Himachal Pradesh – 115/3 (16.1)

Tripura put in to bat first had wicket-keeper, opener J R Debnath started well, but departed early with 12 to her name and 19 on board. Ambika Debnath, steady the ship, but wasn’t for long as the side with her departing on 17(22), lost half its side with 51 on board. Crucial late runs from N N Debnath (27) and M K Rabidas (32) pushed the team’s total to a respectful one of 113/8. Himachal with the ball had Prachi P Chauhan and Sushmita H Kumari with a couple of wickets each, while Anisha A Ansari and Harleen Deol struck a wicket each.

Himachal Pradesh in reply had Nikita S Chauhan’s aggressive start come to a close early on 17(7). Opener and wicket-keeper, Sushma Verma was then partnered by Harleen Deol for a 51-run stand that saw curtains with the wicket of Deol on 33(28). S M Singh then departed early on 8(8) and Neena M Chaudhary then alongside, Sushma Verma closed the game out for the side at the start of the 16th over remaining unbeaten on respective scores of 14(14) and 40(38).

Result : Himachal Pradesh won by 7 wickets

Pre-Quarter Final 2 : Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

Tamil Nadu – 117/7 (20.0)
Madhya Pradesh – 118/3 (18.5)

Tamil Nadu having won the toss, opt to bat first and had skipper and opener, M D Thirushkamini, lost partners on the other end as the scorecard in no time read, 21/4 inside the powerplay overs. Thirushkamini then was well partnered by S Anusha and the pair put on a 48-run stand at a fine pace that came to a close with the wicket of Thirushkamini on 42(51). S Anusha got to her well-paced fifty, but just then departed on 50(38). A Eloksi’s 10(9) and Aparna Mondal’s 3*(4) pushed the team’s score to 117/7. Madhya Pradesh with the ball had Nikita Singh with a couple of wickets and Manjiri Gawade and Poonam Soni with a wicket each to their name.

Also Read:  Bob Carter steps down as Coach of New Zealand Women's Cricket Team

Madhya Pradesh in reply had skipper, Neha Badwaik lead from the front and lost struggling opener, Aashna Patidar on 5(13). Reena Yadav then partnered Neha and the two shared a 41-run stand that came to a close with the wicket of Neha on 40(40). Priti Yadav then shared a small run-stang alongside, Reena before the latter departed on 25(30). Priti Yadav and Nikita Singh on unbeaten scores of 20(20) and 20(10) finished the games for the side. Tamil Nadu with the ball had S Anusha, K N Ramyashri and A Eloksi bagged a wicket each.

Result : Madhya Pradesh won by 7 wickets

Pre-Quarter Final 3 : Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

Jharkhand – 86/9 (17.0)
Bengal – 90/4 (14.3)

Jharkhand put in to bat first lost Ashwani early on the score of 5 with 6 on board and opener, Priyanka, Ruma and A A Patil then departed after starts on respective scores of 13(30), 16(14) and 18(23). As Monika held an end tight with her 21(18), Shubh, Niharika, Aarti, Nidhi B and Prajakta S chipped in with scores of 6(5), 2(3), 5*(4), 0(1) and 0(0) in pushing the teams score to 86/9. Bengal with the ball had, Saika Ishaque top the wickets chart with 3 wickets to her name, Sukanya Parida had a couple against her, while Gouher Sultana and Mita Paul had a wicket each to their name.

Bengal in reply had opener, Dhara Gujjar, start well, but lost her opening partner and skipper, Mita Paul on 9(15) with 22 on board. Dhar then shared a run-stand alongside, P Bala, for a 47-run stand, that came to an end with the wicket of the latter on 20(27). Kashish Agarwal with a golden duck to her name followed, as did Sansthita Biswas shortly on 2(5). Jhumia Khatun with a boundary off her first ball sealed the game, alongside, Dhara Gujjar finishing on 49*(39). Jharkhand with the ball had, Ashwani with a couple of wickets to her name and A A Patil with a wicket to her name.

Also Read:  England's all-rounder Katherine Sciver-Brunt announces retirement from international cricket

Result : Bengal won by 6 wickets 

Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Bengal with the wins have confirmed themselves a berth in the Quarter Final where they join Vidarbha, Maharashtra, Railways, Rajasthan and Andra Pradesh in the Final 8.

Quarter Final Schedule: Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

Railway vs Madhya Pradesh 9:30 AM Chinnaswamy Stadium, Banglore
Rajasthan vs Bengal 9:30 AM Alur Cricket Stadium, Bangalore
Andra Pradesh vs Himachal Pradesh 1:30 PM Chinnaswamy Stadium, Banglore
Vidarbha vs Maharashtra 1:30 PM Alur Cricket Stadium, Bangalore

Live Streaming -Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

A couple of Quarter Final games featuring Andra and Railways on the 1st of November, both the Semi-Finals Games on the 3rd and the Finals on the 5th of November will be aired live on Star Sports Select 1 and Star Sports Select 1 HD.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here