What We Can Expect from This Year’s T20 Cricket World Cup

The ICC Men’s T20 Global Cup, formerly known as the ICC World Twenty20, is the Twenty20 cricket world championship. T20 matches are organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the entity in charge of arranging cricket. Each team gets one inning, as the name says, and both teams have a time restriction of 20 overs.



On October 16, the qualifying matches for the T20 World Cup 2022 will begin. The qualifying matches are divided into two groups, A and B. Each team will compete once against the other teams in its group. The top two teams from each group will progress to the super 12 round.

With these things said, here are some of the things you can expect from the upcoming prestigious tournament.

Australia to host the World Cup

The event’s host country, Australia, will host the T20 World Cup in 2022. Australia is the tournament’s defending champion. In the previous edition, which took place the previous year (2021), Australia won the tournament’s first-ever title by defeating New Zealand in the championship match.

In reality, Australia was set to host the 2020 T20 World Cup. However, due to the pandemic, where it was not feasible to host 16 teams at the same time, not only was the event pushed back, but Australia opted out of hosting the tournament that year, and it was later determined that the competition will be held in Australia in 2022.

The ICC T20 World Cup in 2022 will include sixteen teams in total. The Qualifier round has eight teams, while the Super 12 round features eight teams. The Qualifier round includes teams from Sri Lanka, Namibia, the United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands, the West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland.

Also Read:  4rabet India Review - Real Money Betting

Sri Lanka vs West Indies in the first round

The two past T20 World Cup champions, Sri Lanka and West Indies have declined considerably over the years. As a result, they did not qualify straight for the Super 12 round of the 2022 T20 World Cup and will instead participate in the Preliminary round.

If you are looking to bet as early as the first round of the tournament, you can check ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Information from 10CRIC for the latest odds and prediction information.

Audience turnout expectations

The country’s cricket organization anticipates strong demand for tickets to the Twenty20 event in Australia later this year. Australia will host the eighth edition of the T20 showcase competition between October and November, with 16 teams contending for the trophy.

The pandemic forced the cancellation of the 2020 edition in Australia, while India held the event in the United Arab Emirates last year. The organizers are certain that the players will have a great time. Fans will be able to travel and attend, ticket sales are already beginning, and venues are expected to be filled.

There will be seven venues to host the event

Unlike in the UAE, where only three venues hosted the entire tournament, the T20 World Cup 2022 will be played in seven cities: Geelong and Hobart, which will also host a few Super 12 games; Sydney, Adelaide, Perth, Brisbane, and Melbourne are the other cities, with the MCG hosting both the India-Pakistan match and the Final.


The tournament will remain in its current format, with only three stages, this year. During the first round, two groups of four teams will face each other in a round-robin style. The top two teams from each group proceed to the Super 12 game, where they are divided into two groups of six teams for another round of competition.

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  BCCI recommends Harmanpreet Kaur for prestigious Arjuna Award
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here