Zimbabwe Squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2022 Announced

The next global event on the International Cricket Council (ICC) calendar is the Women’s T20 World Cup that’ll be held early next year in South Africa from the 9th to the 26th of February. The event will see 10 nations take part, direct qualifications will be for hosts South Africa and the top 7 teams on the ICC T20I rankings as of 30 November 2021 among the teams that took part in Australia held T20 World Cup in 2020.


Zimbabwe Women's Cricket Team. PC: Twitter
Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket Team. PC: Twitter


The Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) will be hosting the global qualifier for the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup from the 18th of September to the 25th of September, 2022 at Zayed International stadium and Tolerance oval ground in Abu Dhabi. The tournament will see 8 nations contest in the league stage games and the two finalists will qualify for the main event in South Africa in 2023.

The 8 nations are divided into 2 groups for the league stage games, following which the knockout matches will be played. Group A consists of Bangladesh, the United States of America, Ireland, and Scotland. Group B sees Thailand, the United Arab Emirates (hosts), Papua New Guinea and Zimbabwe who’ve named their squad for the ICC event.

The Africa regional qualifier held in 2021 saw Zimbabwe register 5 straight wins followed by a win in the semifinal and the final to take part in the upcoming global qualifier of the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Zimbabwe women’s squad for ICC women’s T20 World Cup qualifier 2022 :

Mary-Anne Musonda (C), Modester Mupachikwa, Kelis Ndhlovu, Sharne Mayers, Josephine Nkomo, Precious Marange, Christabel Chatonzwa, Loreen Tshuma, Loryn Phiri, Nomvelo Sibanda, Esther Mbofana, Pellagia Mujaji, Audrey Mazvishaya, Chipo Mugeri-Tiripano, Francisca Chipare

Also Read:  4 Teams to Participate in Zimbabwe Women’s T20 Cup from 24th to 31st March 2022

Mary-Anne Musonda will lead the side alongside seasoned players in Christabel Chatonzwa, Pellagia Mujaji and Precious Marange. The 16-year-old opener, Kelis Ndhlovu and pacer Francisca Chipare, who made their T20I debuts during the tour to Namibia, have also made it among the mix. Josephine Nkomo and Modester Mupachikwa missed an 18-day training camp in India last month due to club commitments in England and at present are playing club cricket in England and have been included in the squad of 15.

Zimbabwe last played in the Capricorn women’s T20 Tri-series where they in the finals handed a heavy defeat to Namibia by 7 wickets. The series concluded in April end and that happens to be the last outing Zimbabwe have had.

Zimbabwe are next set to tour South Africa for as many as 5 T20Is from the 28 of August to the 3rd of September which serves them with an excellent opportunity to prepare for the World Cup qualifiers. They then will then travel to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on the 7th of September for a quadrangular series against Thailand Women, the United States of America and the hosts.

Zimbabwe are placed in Group B in the T20 World Cup qualifier alongside Thailand, Papua New Guinea and UAE. The two teams that advance to the final will qualify for the T20 World Cup 2023 which will be held in South Africa next February.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here