Shah Rukh Khan now owns a Women’s Cricket Team in CPL

The inaugural season of the Women’s CPL (Caribbean Premier League) will kick start from August 30. The first edition of the tournament will see a total of three teams participating. 11-member squads, including domestic and international players from West Indies have been announced. Additionally, three overseas players in each team will be drafted making it a 14-member squad.


Final Preparations ahead of CPL19 Women’s T10 matches!
Final Preparations ahead of CPL19 Women’s T10 matches!


The three teams that will lock horns against each other in the much-awaited Women’s CPL are Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, and Trinbago Knight Riders. Out of the three teams, two teams are owned by the same people who own teams in the IPL. Rajasthan Royals owns Barbados Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders owns Trinbago Knight Riders.

Shah Rukh Khan, who is the co-owner of Kolkata Knight Riders Group along with actor Juhi Chawla, took to Twitter to share the news of Kolkata Knight Riders owning a team in the Women’s CPL. Khan tweeted, “This is such a happy moment for all of us at @KKRiders @ADKRiders & of course the lovely set of people at @TKRiders. Hope I can make it there to see them live!”

The Kolkata Knight Riders Group now owns a total of four teams in franchise cricket, namely, Kolkata Knight Riders, Los Angeles Knight Riders, Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, and Trinbago Knight Riders.

Also Read:  Match 2: Barbados v Guyana | Squads | Players to watch | Fantasy Playing XI

Trinbago Knight Riders Squad:

Deandra Dottin (captain), Anisa Mohammed, Lee Ann Kirby, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, Natasha McLean, Sheneta Grimmond, Caneisha Isaac, Jannillea Glasgow, Steffie Soogrim, Shawnisha Hector

The 11-member squad will see three overseas players added into the outfit in the coming few weeks making it a 14-member squad.

Follow Female Cricket on Instagram and Twitter for all the latest news and updates

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here