Who is Janette Brittin – Latest inductee in ICC’s Hall of Fame?

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame inducts legends of the game whose contribution has made a mark in the glorious history of cricket. Earlier this year, before the World Test Championship Finals between India and New Zealand, ten cricketers were inducted and now as we head towards the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final between New Zealand and Australia tomorrow, three more legends – England’s Janette Brittin, Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena and South Africa’s Shaun Pollock will be inducted before the start of the match by fellow ICC Hall of Famer, Sir Clive Lloyd.


ICC Cricket Hall of Fame inducts England’s legend, Janette Brittin
ICC Cricket Hall of Fame inducts England’s legend, Janette Brittin. Creator: Patrick Eagar/Popperfoto | Credit: Patrick Eagar via Getty Images | Copyright: © 1993 Patrick Eaga


Who is Janette Brittin?

With a test career of 19 years, England’s Janette Brittin is considered as England’s one of most successful batters. She played 27 tests and 63 ODI matches for the country with a total of 1935 runs and five centuries in the test and 2121 runs and the same number of centuries in the ODIs with the highest score of 138 not out in 1982. She was the top scorer at the 1988 and 1992 World Cup Finals and though England suffered a defeat in the former against Australia, they won the World Cup title in the latter with Brittin taking the winning catch. After her contribution to the national side, she took up coaching in Surrey. She was honored with the Member of the Order of the British Empire award (MBE) in 1999. This legendary player lost her battle with Cancer in 2017 at the age of 58. In July 2019, a room was named in the members’ pavilion by the Surrey County Cricket Club in her honour.

In a report by ICC, Brittin’s friend Angela Bainbridge shared her gratitude towards the council and remembered Brittin saying, “I would like to extend my thanks to the ICC for the incredible honour they have bestowed on Jan by inaugurating her into the Hall of Fame. I along with Jan’s parents Maggie and Kevin are incredibly proud of her and her achievements and this award recognizes both the player and the person that she was. You could not wish to meet a more humble or talented player and she always gave 100% whether she played for club, county, or country. Jan truly was a wonderful player and a fantastic role model for those that followed her. She would have loved to play in the professional forum that the girls enjoy today and would be proud of how they have all moved the game forward. It is sad that Jan is not able to collect this trophy herself, but her memory will live on.”

The other inductee Mahela Jayawardena played a crucial role for the Sri Lankan cricket team, captaining the side in all formats. He is the first Sri Lankan cricketer to score 10,000 test runs and the second from the country to reach the same milestone in the ODI. Under his presence, Sri Lanka made it to five ICC Finals including the ICC Men’s T20 World cup of 2014 where they went on to be champions.

Also Read:  A member pavilion room at Surray Oval, England renamed after Janette Brittin - England’s former cricketer

On the other hand, coming from a cricketing family, South Africa’s Shaun Pollock is considered one of the finest all-rounders of all time. He captained the team in all the formats and holds the records for taking the most wickets in ODI at home soil (193), for the most number of maidens in ODI (313) and many more.

Watch the legends being formally inducted before the start of the T20 World Cup Final tomorrow, November 14.

The other women inducted to the ICC Hall of Fame are-:

Name Country Career Role Year Inducted
Lisa Sthalekar Australia 2001-2013 All-rounder 2020
Cathryn Fitzpatrick Australia 1991-2007 Bowler 2019
Claire Taylor England 1998-2011 Wicket-keeper Batter 2018
Karen Rolton Australia 1995-2009 Batter, Occasional Bowler 2016
Betty Wilson Australia 1948-1958 All-rounder 2015
Debbie Hockley New Zealand 1979-2000 Batter 2014
Enid Bakewell England 1968-1982 All-rounder 2012
Belinda Clark Australia 1991-2005 Batter 2011
Rachael Heyhoe-Flint England 1960-1982 Batter 2010

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here