Himachal Pradesh Women’s Team Lifts Rama Atray Memorial Trophy 2021

The fourth edition of Rama Atray Memorial Trophy was played in Chandigarh and Panchkula among four teams, namely, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab and Uttarakhand. The 50-over tournament was played between October 8 and October 12, 2021 in a round-robin format.

The final was played on October 12 between Himachal Pradesh and Punjab, the top two teams in the points table. All the matches were played with white balls and coloured clothing. This tournament served as a good practice for the girls just before the start of the domestic season.


Himachal Pradesh Women's Cricket Team
Himachal Pradesh Women’s Cricket Team


The winners, Himachal Pradesh, won a cash prize of ₹40,000 along with the winners’ trophy and runners-up won a cash prize of ₹20,000. Other awards such as player of the match for each match, best batter, best bowler, and best all-rounder of the tournament were also presented.

Schedule – Rama Atray Memorial Trophy

Date Match Venue
October 8, 2021 Jammu & Kashmir vs Uttarakhand GMSSS-26
October 8, 2021 Punjab vs Himachal Pradesh Tau Devi Lal Stadium, Panchkula
October 9, 2021 Jammu & Kashmir vs Punjab GMSSS-26
October 9, 2021 Uttarakhand vs Himachal Pradesh Tricity Cricket Ground
October 11, 2021 Himachal Pradesh vs Jammu & Kashmir GMSSS-26
October 11, 2021 Uttarakhand vs Punjab Tau Devi Lal Stadium, Panchkula
October 12, 2021


Punjab vs Himachal Pradesh Sector 16 Cricket Stadium

GMSSS: Government Modern Senior Secondary School


Himachal Pradesh and Punjab locked horns against each other in the final of the fourth edition of Rama Atray Memorial Trophy, after emerging as the top teams in the table. Himachal Pradesh beat the defending champions Punjab by eight wickets to win the tournament as they chased down the target of 154 in 38.1 overs. Preeti Kahlon was declared as the player of the match for her brilliant bowling performance, including 6-27. She was the most successful bowler for Himachal Pradesh.

Players of the tournament

Himachal Pradesh’s Kashish Verma with a total of 132 runs was declared as the best batter of the tournament while her teammate Preeti Kahlon with 10 wickets was declared as the best bowler. Punjab’s Kanika with 60 runs and 6 wickets was declared as the best all-rounder of the tournament.

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Also Read:  96Ace: Top 3 Types Of Poker For 2022

Liked the story? Leave a comment here