Women’s Domestic 2021-22 season to start from September 21 in India

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on July 3 announced the domestic schedule for the 2021-22 season with a total of 2,127 domestic games to be played across various age groups in the men’s and women’s categories.


Domestic Railways Women's Cricket Team
Domestic Railways Women’s Cricket Team


With the COVID-19 pandemic still very much in action, BCCI issued a statement stating that the player’s safety will always be their first priority, “The BCCI is confident of hosting the domestic season with health and safety of players and all people involved being paramount.”

The domestic season will start on 21 September 2021 with Senior Women’s One Day League, a 50-over women’s list-A tournament. The first season of this tournament took place in 2006-07. The champions of the inaugural edition of Senior Women’s One Day League were Railways.

Railways have quite an impressive record when it comes to this league, apart from winning the inaugural edition, they also are the defending champions and have the most number of titles to their name. They have won 11 titles.

The Senior Women’s One Day League starts with a round-robin format and then play-offs are played to determine the winner and the total number of teams is 36.

After the Senior Women’s One Day League, the Senior Women’s One Day Challenger Trophy will commence from 27 October 2021. Senior Women’s One Day Challenger Trophy is basically the women’s version of the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy, which started during the 2008-09 season. The main purpose of this tournament is for the players to showcase their talent and for young players to make an impression.

Also Read:  Century for Shikha Pandey in her comeback match in Katherine Raymont Shield

Liked the story? Leave a comment here