Ismail, Baig and Kapp made it to ICC Player of the Month nominees for January 2021

Since 2004, ICC has been hosting awards annually where they hand out titles of Player of the Year. From this year onwards, ICC will be nominating players for the Player of the Month title. According to the ICC website, it is being launched to recognize and celebrate the game’s top male and female cricketers across formats throughout the year.


ICC player of the Month - Jan 2021 Nominees
ICC Player of the Month – Jan 2021 Nominees


A group called the “Independent Voting Academy” (IVA) has been created to select the winner of the honor. This group consists of prominent members of the cricketing world like former players, broadcasters, journalists, and some members of the ICC hall of fame. Along with the members of this group, fans too will have their say. Fans can log on to ICC’s official website and vote for their favorite player. The weightage of the fans’ votes is 10% whereas the IVA will reserve 90% of the share. Winners will be announced every second Monday on ICC’s digital channels.

The nominees for the Women’s Player of the Month are – Pakistan’s Diana Baig, South Africa’s Shabnim Ismail, and Marizanne Kapp. Diana has played three ODIs and two T20Is against South Africa and has led the wicket-taking chart with nine wickets in three ODIs.

Shabnim also played the same number of matches and took seven wickets in the ODIs before taking five wickets in the second T20I. All-rounder Marizanne Kapp played a match less than her counterparts in the category. She played two ODIs and two T20Is against Pakistan where she made 115 runs at a strike rate of 110.57 and took three wickets in the ODI series.

Also Read:  Lara Goodall becomes 15th member to be Contracted by Cricket South Africa

Voting Academy for ICC Player of the Month January 2021:

Afghanistan: Hameed Qayoomi and Javed Hamim

Australia: Adam Collins and Lisa Sthalekar

Bangladesh: Tarek Mahmoud and Mohammad Isam

England: Kalika Mehta and Claire Taylor

Ireland: Ian Callender and Isobel Joyce

India: Mona Parthsarathi and VVS Laxman

New Zealand: Mark Geenty and John Wright

Pakistan: Sohail Imran and Ramiz Raja

South Africa: Firdose Moonda and Jonty Rhodes

Sri Lanka: Champika Fernando and Russel Arnold

West Indies: Ian Bishop and Andy Roberts

Zimbabwe: Tristan Holme and Mpumelelo Mbangwa

Others: AKS Satish and Preston Mommsen

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here