Celebrating Dominant Australia in Limited Overs Women’s Cricket

Australia’s women have been absolutely phenomenal when it comes to playing limited-overs cricket. They became 11-time world champions in shorter forms of the game this year when winning a fifth T20 World Cup on home soil.


Australia Women's Cricket team
Australia Women’s Cricket team. Pic Credits: ICC/Getty Images


In making a successful defense of that crown, Australia lost just one match at the tournament. They have also won six editions of the Women’s Cricket World Cup, going unbeaten at the finals of that competition four times.

Recognition of their remarkable achievements has been a long time coming in some quarters. Their Women’s T20 World Cup victory had some reflective glory on it after the tournament was voted the Best Sporting Event at the 2020 Australian Event Awards Ceremony. Crowds for women’s cricket swelled to set new records during the final. The official attendance at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground for Australia women beating India by 85 runs was 86,174.

It was a breakthrough moment for women’s sport in general in a country known for its love of competition. The marketplace in Australia is pretty full, thanks to Aussie Rules football, A-League soccer, rugby in both codes, and horse racing as well as cricket.

Fired to their most recent world title victory by the runs of Beth Mooney and Alyssa Healy, who scored almost 500 between them throughout the tournament, the Australia women’s key players are in their prime. Supporting those exploits with the bat was some variety in their bowling attack, courtesy of the pacey Megan Schutt and orthodox spinner Jess Jonassen.

Also Read:  Why were senior and experienced Indian players excluded for Bangladesh Tour?

They picked up 23 wickets between them. Like those into bat, Schutt and Jonassen are entering the peak of their powers. That all bodes well for the future and Australia continuing its dominance of women’s cricket.

If there is one downside to all their success, it’s that it never escapes the attention of bookmakers. For those looking to place bets on cricket, you will often find Australian women to be hot favorites to win their limited-overs matches.


Their next major tournament is the 2022 Women’s Cricket World Cup, hosted by neighbors in New Zealand during the spring. Australia women haven’t had as much success in this 50 overs format championship recently, with just two of their six triumphs coming this century. Last victorious in 2013 out in India, they were beaten in the semis by that opposition in the 2017 Women’s Cricket World Cup in England. Conditions should suit Australian women, and there is more major limited-overs action in the Southern Hemisphere to follow.

The next Women’s T20 World Cup is scheduled for February 2023 in South Africa. Qualification for the tournament finals is largely based on international rankings. Australia’s women are in no danger of missing out on that score with the aim of completing a hat-trick.

That is something they managed between 2010 and 2014 when winning all four editions of the Women’s T20 World Cup. The sky really is the limit for Australian women, who are expected to continue their dominance of shorter formats well into this decade.

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Preview of The Women’s Ashes Series 2019 : Australia in England
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here