Everything you need to know about India-Red Squad led by Mithali Raj

Hello everyone!!! A very Happy New Year to all our avid readers…

We are back with yet another article and in this we shall tell you everything about 2nd team of Women’s Challenger Series 2017-18, which is going to start on the 4th day of the New Year i.e. India Red.

First of all, let’s know names included in the 13-member squad –

Full squad of India Red:- Mithali Raj (Captain), Deepti Sharma, Priya Punia, Neha Tanwar, Nishu Choudhary, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Priyanka Priyadarshani, TP Kanwar, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Sukanya Panda, Manali Dakshini and Bharti Fulmali.

Now we shall try to study the potential and experience of the selected squad –

Let’s begin with the team’s captain and it’s none other than our superstar sportswoman of the year 2017, India national team’s skipper Mithali Raj. Raj continued to be a part of railways team in the domestic cricket even after achieving so much at the international level. The beaming personality of the legendary player will itself energize the India Red’s team and her captaincy is going to provide an extra edge to them over the other teams.

Apart from Smriti Mandhana, batters Deepti Sharma, Neha Tanwar and wicketkeeper batswoman Sushma Verma and bowlers Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi and Sukanya Parida are the other players from the Indian National Team.

Pink city Jaipur girl, Priya Punia, is expected to open for India Red team in the batting department. The right-hand batter represents Delhi Women in the domestic cricket and has earlier played for India Green team.

Also Read:  Cricket Betting Websites in India

Another domestic yet highly experienced batter is Nishu Choudhary who hails from Saharanpur, Uttar Pradesh. From 2007-08 till date, 26-year old has come a long way from representing under – 19s Women to North Central Indian Railways Women.

Himachal girl TP Kanwar got chance to play for India ‘A’ in December 2017 and with a highly economical bowling display, reserved a well deserved place in India Red squad. She has been representing Himachal Pradesh Women’s team from 2013 in domestic cricket.

Next comes Maharashtrian cricketer Manali Dakshini who is going to handle the pace attack along with Mansi Joshi. She played for India Green in the last year’s Challenger Series and has been representing Mumbai and West Zone in domestic cricket.

Moving on to the newcomers of this team:-

1. Priyanka Priyadarshini – Priyanka has been vested with the responsibility of strengthening middle-order batting. She is also one among the three ODI players to find a place in India ‘A’ team which played against Bangladesh ‘A’ in December. Based on her performance in ODI team of India ‘A’, the young girl has been given another opportunity in Women’s Challenger Series.

2. Bharati Shrikrushna Fulmali – Born on November 10, 1994, the 23-year old bowler is Maharashtrian and represents Vidarbha Women in domestic cricket. This tournament is surely going to be a major event for the youngster to explore her potential and polish her talent.

The team’s strength lies in the long lasting experience of its squad. This can be well affirmed by the presence of very talented Sushma Verma and Neha Tanwar in particular.

Also Read:  3 Major Reasons that contributed to IOC's decision of including Cricket in Olympics

Tanwar came back to the national team after experiencing motherhood and thus setting an example already.

Last but not the least, let’s know the schedule of fixtures of this team:-
4th January – Opening Match against India Blue
5th January – India Green vs India Red
Next, we shall bring detailed information about Team- India Green Women.

Kanika Parineeta

‘Gully’ cricket player and close observer of Indian Cricket team and it’s matches. Straight forward and still socially admirable personality. Strong belief in teamwork and possess high leadership skills.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here