Naomi Stalenberg joins Hobart Hurricanes for upcoming WBBL06

Domestic Cricket for Women has been one of the vital aspects of the game. Australia, which dominates white-ball cricket, has one of the best domestic settings for women’s cricket. The face of the Australian domestic structure is the Women’s Big Bash League. While the tournament is about to start, the teams are gearing up as well.


Naomi Stalenberg. PC:
Naomi Stalenberg. PC:


We recently reported that Thunders have completed their side for the tournament. Hurricanes have the latest update for us. They have announced their final squad of 15 players. Naomi Stalenberg is the recent entry as she found herself a new home for the upcoming season of Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.

She says that “I’m really looking forward to getting out in the purple, we have a great bunch of girls and I’m really looking forward to playing with some old teammates and some new people as well. I think living in Sydney for my whole life and traveling to the SCG was a big toll, having early mornings … being a lot less stressed (in Hobart) is really helping me, I’ve really enjoyed the change in lifestyle”.

She adds that her new appointment will help her focus more on her life and hopes to continue her game in a more relaxed environment. Apart from her, Hurricanes will have players like Erica Kershaw, Amy Smith, Emma Thompson, and Chloe Rafferty. It has to be noted that Hurricanes have also called in for four injury replacements comprising three local and one International spot.

Stumped – One cricket umpire, two countries. Click on the banner to see more details
Stumped – One cricket umpire, two countries. Click on the banner to see more details

The biggest of these misses would be Tayla Vlaeminck who is suffering an injury and has been ruled out for the complete tournament. All-rounder from neighboring New Zealand namely Hayley Jensen has joined Hurricanes as the International replacement. The side banks on the likes of Hayley Mathews and Chloe Tyron to put on a show for their spectators. WBBL will take place completely across five venues with all sides housed in WBBL village.

Also Read:  WBBL 2020 Fixtures Announced

Hurricane squad for WBBL06 – Corinne Hall (c), Nicola Carey (Aus), Rachel Priest (NZ), Chloe Tryon (SA), Tayla Vlaeminck (Aus), Hayley Matthews (WI), Maisy Gibson, Brooke Hepburn, Erica Kershaw, Sasha Moloney, Chloe Rafferty, Amy Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Emma Thompson, Belinda Vakarewa

Replacement squad for WBBL06 – Hayley Jensen (NZ), Chloe Abel, Nell Bryson Smith, Emily Smith


Shubham Kumar

A student who enjoys studying cricket more than anything else, keen to learn the insights of the women’s game.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here