Cricket South Africa announces T20I Squad, Chloe Tryon returns, series starts 5th July

During the ongoing South Africa tour of India, spanning from June 16 to July 9, the hosts dominated with a clean sweep in the 3-match One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and a comfortable 10-wicket victory in the one-off Test in the final session on day 4. The focus now shifts to the shorter format of the game with a 3-match T20 International (T20I) series scheduled from July 5th to 9th at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced a 15-player squad for the upcoming WT20I series, Chloe Tryon returns.

Cricket South Africa announces T20I Squad, Chloe Tryon returns, series starts 5th July
Cricket South Africa announces T20I Squad, Chloe Tryon returns, series starts 5th July

Recently, South Africa faced Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series in March-April 2024 at home, but the result wasn’t favorable for the hosts, losing the WT20I series 2-1.

Among the now-announced Proteas women’s squad, Chloé Tryon makes a return after recovering from a back injury. Delmi Tucker and Nondumiso Shangase have been left out of the squad that was named for the ODIs and the Test.

Tryon last played for the national side nearly three months ago, contributing with a wicket in the 2nd T20I against Sri Lanka on March 30, 2024, where she finished with bowling figures of 1/14 in her three overs.

Proteas women’s head coach, Dillon du Preez commented on the squad, expressing enthusiasm regarding the finalized 15-player squad for the upcoming WT20I series. He highlighted the return of Chloe, who has recovered from an injury, noting the invaluable experience that she brings back to the team.

He said, “We also have Chloe back in the team after recovering from an injury. She brings a lot of experience to the team, and we can’t wait to see her back on the field.”

Also Read:  Harmanpreet Kaur scores maiden Test fifty in Chennai

Dillon du Preez, looking ahead, emphasized the significance of the remaining three WT20I matches against India, viewing them as opportunities to explore potential options before returning home. He stated that these matches are crucial in refining the team’s strategy and preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Bangladesh, scheduled for later this year.

“We have our last three T20I matches against India. This will give us some time to look at one or two options before we go home and start our final preparation for the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh,” he added.

South Africa Squad for WT20I series:

Laura Wolvaardt ©, Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, and Chloe Tryon.

IN – Chloe Tryon

OUT – Delmi Tucker and Nondumiso Shangase

Below are the fixtures for the India vs South Africa 3-Match T20I Series:

(All the matches will be played at the MA. Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk in Chennai)

Sr No



Time (IST)


5th July 2024

1st T20I

7 PM


7th July 2024

2nd T20I

7 PM


9th July 2024

3rd T20I

7 PM

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here