All you need to know about Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2021 | Squad | Schedule | Format

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, a 50 over English women’s domestic tournament, which was played for the first time last year, is back this year with eight teams looking to be the one that lifts the Trophy.

The tournament is named after late cricketer Rachael Heyhoe Flint, who played for the England women’s cricket team from 1960 to 1982. She was the captain of the team from 1966 to 1978 and was unbeaten for the 6 test series. Flint was the captain of the team that won the inaugural women’s cricket world cup back in 1973. She was also the first woman to hit a six in a test match and one of the first women to become a member of MCC.


Southern Vipers celebrate winning the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy in 2020 after beating Northern Diamonds in the final
Southern Vipers celebrate winning the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy in 2020 after beating Northern Diamonds in the final

Initially, the tournament had started as a one-off tournament but in February 2021, England and Wales Cricket Board announced that it will be back for the 2021 season.

The inaugural edition of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy was played in August-September 2020 with eight teams. Southern Vipers won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy last year beating Northern Diamonds in the finals.

The Structure of Tournament in 2021

This year’s format is different from last year’s. While last year the teams were divided into 2 regional groups of four, with the table-toppers competing in the finals, this year tournament will adapt the round-robin format in the group stage. The winner will automatically reach the finals, while the second and third meeting is a play-off to decide who goes to the finals.

There are two group phases in the tournament, the first four group games will be played in group phase part 1 from May 29 to June 12 and the last three group games will be played in group phase part from September 10 to 18. The play-off will be conducted for the 2nd and 3rd spot holders to decide who gets the spot in the finals. The final game of this tournament will be played on September 22.

All eight teams will compete on the first day. Defending champions Southern Vipers take on Lightning to The Ageas Bowl, while last year’s runner-up, Northern Diamonds, host Central Sparks at Emerald Headingley. Elsewhere, Sunrisers face South East Stars at Chelmsford, and Western Storm entertains Thunder in Bristol.

Also Read:  Western Storm clinch second Women's Cricket Super League title


Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2021
Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2021


Schedule of Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2021

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy will pause from mid-June to mid-September to make way for the inaugural edition of The Hundred which will start in July and will go on for the next 5 weeks.

In the international calendar, the English women will kick off their summer with a Test match against India between June 16-19. England will then take on the women in blue in 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. England will then face the White Ferns in September for a limited-over series at home. This year England will also tour Pakistan for the first time for a limited-over series.

A look at the squads of all eight teams:

Lightning – Kathryn Bryce (c), Grace Ballinger, Tammy Beaumont, Sarah Bryce, Bethan Ellis, Abbey Freeborn, Kirstie Gordon, Teresa Graves, Yvonne Graves, Nancy Harman, Lucy Higham, Leah Kellogg, Michaela Kirk, Ellie Mitchell, Sophie Munro, Sonia Odedra, Shachi Pai, Alicia Presland

Central Sparks – Eve Jones (c), Emily Arlott, Hannah Baker, Clare Boycott, Thea Brookes, Steph Butler, Gwen Davies, Poppy Davies, Georgia Davis, Ria Fackrell, Sarah Glenn, Chloe Hill, Milly Home, Amy Jones, Marie Kelly, Anisha Patel, Grace Potts, Liz Russell, Issy Wong

Northern Diamonds – Hollie Armitage (c), Katherine Brunt, Ami Campbell, Leah Dobson, Helen Fenby, Phoebe Graham, Jenny Gunn, Bess Heath, Rachel Hopkins, Sterre Kalis, Beth Langston, Katie Levick, Alex MacDonald, Nat Sciver, Rachel Slater, Linsey Smith, Ella Telford, Lauren Winfield-Hill

North West Thunder – Alex Hartley (c), Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Alice Clarke, Daniella Collins, Kate Cross, Rebecca Duckworth, Alice Dyson, Sophie Ecclestone, Liberty Heap, Laura Jackson, Hannah Jones, Emma Lamb, Daisy Mullan, Olivia Thomas, Ellie Threlkeld, Sophia Turner

South East Stars – Maxine Blythin, Aylish Cranstone, Phoebe Franklin, Susie Rowe, Kirstie White, Bryony Smith, Sophia Dunkley, Alice Davidson-Richards, Chloe Brewer, Alice Capsey, Amy Gordon, Hannah Jones, Rhianna Southby, Tash Farrant, Megan Belt, Grace Gibbs, Eva Gray, Danielle Gregory, Freya Davies

Also Read:  Interview with Marie Kelly - A Player, A Coach, and a Sports scientist

Southern Vipers – Georgia Adams, Emily Windsor, Ella McCaughan, Maia Bouchier, Freya Kemp, Paige Scholfield, Ella Chandler, Alice Monaghan, Charlie Dean, Charlotte Taylor, Danni Wyatt, Ariana Dowse, Carla Rudd, Cassidy McCarthy, Lauren Bell, Tara Norris, Providence Cowdrill

Sunrisers – Hayley Brown, Cordelia Griffith, Fran Wilson, Kelly Castle, Naomi Dattani, Jo Gardner, Katie Midwood, Alice MacLeod, Grace Scrivens, Amara Carr, Scarlett Hughes, Mia Rogers, Gayatri Gole, Sonali Patel, Emily Thorpe, Mady Villiers, Katie Wolfe

Western Storm – Sophie Luff, Lauren Parfitt, Heather Knight, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Emma Corney, Niamh Holland, Olivia Churcher, Abbie Whybrow, Nat Wraith, Claire Nicholas, Danielle Gibson, Anya Shrubsole, Fi Morris, Katie George, Emily Edgcombe, Steph Hutchins, Lauren FIler

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2021 Fixtures Schedule:

Saturday, May 29:

Northern Diamonds v Central Sparks (Headingley)
Western Storm v Thunder (Bristol),
Sunrisers v South East Stars (Chelmsford)
Southern Vipers v Lightning (Southampton)

Monday, May 31:

Lightning v Northern Diamonds (tbc)
Central Sparks v Western Storm (Edgbaston)
South East Stars v Southern Vipers (Beckenham)
Thunder v Sunrisers (tbc)

Saturday, June 5:

South East Stars v Western Storm (The Oval)
Sunrisers v Northern Diamonds (tbc)
Thunder v Lightning (tbc)
Southern Vipers v Central Sparks (Hove)

Saturday, June 12:

Northern Diamonds v South East Stars (Headingley)
Lightning v Sunrisers (tbc)
Central Sparks v Thunder (Worcester)
Western Storm v Southern Vipers (Taunton)

Friday, September 10:

Northern Diamonds v Western Storm (Riverside)
South East Stars v Lightning (tbc)
Sunrisers v Central Sparks (tbc)
Thunder v Southern Vipers (tbc)

Sunday, September 12:

Northern Diamonds v Thunder (Riverside)
Central Sparks v South East Stars (Worcester)
Western Storm v Lightning (Bristol),
Sunrisers v Southern Vipers (tbc)

Saturday, September 18:

Lightning v Central Sparks (tbc),
South East Stars v Thunder (tbc)
Western Storm v Sunrisers (Bristol)
Southern Vipers v Northern Diamonds (Southampton)

Wednesday, September 22:

Play-off – 2nd v 3rd

Saturday, September 25:

Final – 1st v Winner play-off

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here