England announces 14-player ODI Squad to play against India, Mady Villiers and Emily Arlott released

With the India women vs England women, ODI series just around the corner, England and Wales Cricket Board announced a 14-player squad for the series on June 23.


England Women's Cricket Team. PC: englandcricket/Twitter
England Women’s Cricket Team. PC: englandcricket/Twitter


Sophie Dunkley, who made an amazing test debut against India last week and remained unbeaten at 74, will probably make her ODI debut in this series. The two players who were removed from the test squad later, Freya Davies and Sarah Glenn, who went on to their domestic duties, are back in the squad.

England’s regular ODI squad member, Danielle Wyatt is excluded from the squad. Danielle has represented England in 77 One-Day Internationals and 116 T20 Internationals. She was a part of the England squad who toured New Zealand earlier this year, helping them complete a 2–1 WODI series win and a 3–0 WT20I series win.

The only player who was a part of the Test squad but isn’t included in the ODI squad is Georgia Elwiss, who has not played an ODI match since 2019.

England Women’s head coach Lisa Keightley in a press release said that the squad is really excited for this challenge against India, “We’re looking forward to playing ODI cricket again after a hugely enjoyable and hard-fought Test match.”

Talking about the selection challenges, she said, “The competition for places across all formats is growing every time we meet to select a squad. The options available to us are the strongest we’ve had since I’ve been in the role and we feel this group gives us a great opportunity for success in the ODI element of the series.”

Also Read:  List of Records Made and Broken by Shafali Verma in Women's Test

When asked about the reason for the exclusion of Danielle Wyatt and Georgia Elwiss, she said, “There’s no space on this occasion for Danni Wyatt and Georgia Elwiss, and while I know they’re both disappointed to miss out, it’s important that they’re given the opportunity to play cricket at a regional level ahead of the Vitality IT20 series. We have to balance the needs of the squad and the need of the individual and we’ll always be keen to get people playing competitive cricket where we can.”

The home team will host India for 3 One-Day International matches, starting in Bristol on June 27. The second match will be played on June 30 in Taunton and the series will come to an end on July 3 in Worcester.

England Women’s Squad for ODI Series against India:

Heather Knight (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (vice-captain), Anya Shrubsole, Fran Wilson, and Lauren Winfield-Hill

Liked the story? Leave a comment here