Internet divided over ‘No-Ball’ Conundrum during 2nd ODI between India and Australia Women

The second ODI between India and Australia that was played on Friday at Harrup Park in Mackay had a dramatic end, thanks to Australia registering their 26th straight ODI win on the very last ball and the actual last ball, which was adjudged as a no-ball, that created a lot of stir.


3rd ODI garners mixed reactions over last ball 'no-ball'
3rd ODI garners mixed reactions over last ball ‘no-ball’


If the last ball had been a legal delivery, then it would have been India, who would have won the match and broken Australia’s winning streak. However, it was written otherwise in destiny. Defending 13 off her last over, Jhulan Goswami bowled a rank full toss to Nicola Carey, which she hit straight to Yastika Bhatia at mid-wicket. Indians started celebrating as soon as Bhatia held on to the catch. However, there was a twist in the tale.

Though the on-field umpires; Bruce Oxenford and Claire Polosak (standing in for Eloise Sheridan) did not give it a NO ball, they went to the third umpire Phillip Gillespie to review the status of the ball. Gillespie adjudged it as a no-ball and Australia got another ball to play with two runs to get. Since it was declared as a no-ball, the last delivery was going to be a free hit and the only way the batter could be out was by way of running out.

Goswami loaded the delivery one last time which Carey hit it to long-on. Mooney and Carey scampered for two runs to see their side home as Jemimah Rodrigues was unable to return a sharp throw that could have led to a run-out. Australia won the match by five wickets.

While the Indians prematurely celebrated their win on the penultimate ball, Australia marched to victory on the very last ball. After the match, the “no-ball” incident took the internet by storm as the Indian fans expressed their disappointment on social media platforms. Megan Schutt, who is not a part of the Australian squad for the series, however, had other thoughts.

Also Read:  Former India Cricketer Minoti Desai picks her Top 4 Semi-Finalists for World Cup 2022

Scutt tweeted, “WOW. Just WOW…what a freaking game!!! Sheesh. Just a quick one though – doesn’t two above the waist no balls mean you’re out of the attack!? Anyways. Wow. Proud. #AUSvIND.”

Former Australia captain and commentator Lisa Sthalekar also took to Twitter to share her analysis, She tweeted, “Tried my best to see if the no ball call was right. Picture on the left is Carey facing up for the last ball (waist blue line) Picture on the right is point of impact. Red line shows she is bent. Question is, was the ball dipping enough? Plus my lines may not be exact science.”

To Sthalekar’s tweet, journalist Boria Majumdar commented, “My point is very simple- we introduced neutral umpires in cricket to eliminate doubt. Else we should not even have tried. Today shows us again why we need to eliminate doubt. That lbw. That no-ball. No one can conclusively say. Have neutral umpires to eliminate doubt. Fair play.”

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Team Australia: Strengths and Weaknesses – ICC Women’s World T20 2020

Liked the story? Leave a comment here