Group D: Round VII – Punjab, Kerala and Himachal dominate over Manipur, Chandigarh and Uttarakhand

Group D: Round VII – Punjab, Kerala, and Himachal dominate over Manipur, Chandigarh, and Uttarakhand – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

Date: 23 October 2019

Match 1: Chandigarh vs Kerala

Venue: RDCA Ground, Raipur

The match between the two sides was reduced to a 15-overs per side game. Kerala batting first, set a target of 122 for Chandigarh. The batting group had a good day as they all contributed to the team’s total. Captain Sajana S departed after making 10 runs in 7 balls while Jincy Kutty made 17 in 18 balls. Opener Shani T Sasidharan made an unbeaten 37 off 41 balls while Mrudhula Suresh played a quickfire knock of 34 runs in 15 balls. Kerala was 121/5 after 15 overs.

Chandigarh, chasing a competitive target lost 8 wickets. They scored at a run rate of 4.46 when more than 8 runs were required per over. Captain Amanjot Kaur made 33 runs in 42 balls to take the team to 67/8 in 15 overs.

Result: Kerala won by 54 runs.

Match 2: Himachal vs Cricket Association of Uttarakhand

Venue: Ravenshaw University Ground, Cuttack

Uttarakhand batted first and crumbled under the bowling of Himachal. They were all-out in 20 overs. Raghvi Bist and Radha Chand both made 13 runs while Mamta Kothiyal contributed 10 runs to the team’s 53.

Himachal didn’t have the best of the starts as they lost their captain and opener Nikita Chauhan on a duck in the first over itself. But Harleen Deol and Tajinder Singh both scored 24 runs each to take the team over the line in less than 15 overs. Himachal made 57 runs losing 2 wickets in 14.4 overs to chase the target.

Also Read:  Group B: Round VII – Rozario and Bala’s solid knocks help Railways win over Sikkim

Result: Himachal won by 8 wickets.

Match 3: Manipur vs Punjab

Punjab had a dominant win over Manipur. They won by 9 wickets and chased the score with 16 overs remaining. Manipur batted first and made 53 runs in 20 overs losing 4 wickets. Opener Chingkheileima Mangsatabam made 16 runs in 52 balls.

While Manipur had scored at a run rate of 2.65, Punjab batted with a run rate above 14. Priyanka Malik made 24 runs in 9 balls while Zaman Akhter’s unbeaten 30 off 14 saw Punjab chasing the score in only 3.5 overs losing 1 wicket.

Result: Punjab won by 9 wickets.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here