Group C: Round IV – Karnataka, Baroda and Mumbai dominate over Tripura, Pondicherry and Nagaland

Group C: Round IV – Karnataka, Baroda and Mumbai dominate over Tripura, Pondicherry and Nagaland – Senior Women’s T20 Trophy 2019

Baroda State Women's Cricket Team
Baroda State Women’s Cricket Team

Date: 18 October 2019

Match 1: Karnataka vs Tripura

Venue: Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana, Kandivali, Mumbai

Tripura and Karnataka played their Round IV matches in Mumbai on Friday. Batting first, Tripura scored 82 runs and lost 7 wickets. It was again Mouchaity B Debnath, the wicketkeeper bat of the side who scored the most runs. She made 18 runs in 29 balls. Jhumki Debnath and Maman Das scored 16 runs each.

Karnataka also didn’t have the best of starts. Their openers fell before contributing much to the scorecard. It was Prathyusha Challuru and captain Veda Krishnamurthy who scored the bulk of the runs. Challuru scored 26 in 37 balls while Veda remained unbeaten on 36 off 24. Karnataka chased the target in less than 16 overs.

Result: Karnataka won by 6 wickets.

Match 2: Baroda vs Cricket Association of Pondicherry

Venue: Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana, Kandivali, Mumbai

Pondicherry captain Latika Kumari played a good knock of 45 runs in 40 balls. She remained unbeaten at the end. Pondicherry finished on 85/8.

Baroda’s openers were superb in the chase. Binaisha Surti remained unbeaten while scoring 55 runs in 58 balls. Palak Patel also played a handy 27 off 35. Baroda chased the target in 16 overs.

Result: Baroda won by 9 wickets.

Match 3: Mumbai vs Nagaland

Venue: BKC Ground, Mumbai

A complete team effort from the batting unit saw Mumbai set a target of 162 for Nagaland. Vrushali Bhagat top scored with 46 runs off 37 balls while Sayali Satghare made an unbeaten 40 off 23. Sejal Raut also made 31 runs in 19 balls. Mumbai were on 161/3 at the end of 20 overs.

Also Read:  Group E: Round IV - Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Saurashtra and Maharashtra obtain victories

Nagaland, while chasing crumbled under pressure. Faisal Khan 12(22) and Madhumonti Bhattacharya 19(29) gave the side some hopes. Sentilemla S Ayu Imsong remained not out at 12. Nagaland made 46 runs losing 3 wickets.

Result: Mumbai won by 115 runs.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here