Here’s everything you need to know about India’s Senior Women’s T20 League 2019: Venue, Schedule, Groups, Teams

Senior Women’s T20 League is all set to take off in India. The league which is a domestic T20 tournament for women cricketers will start on the 14th of October this year.

Nadia Chowdhary With Deepti Sharma
Nadia Chowdhary With Deepti Sharma

Senior Women’s T20 League is an annual tournament played between various domestic teams of India. This time the league will be held from 14th October to 10th November. 37 teams will play each other in a round-robin format. There will be 5 groups of 7 or 8 teams each and 2 top teams from each group will proceed to the Super League stage where the selected teams will be again split into 2 groups of 5 teams each. The top 2 teams from each group will then proceed to the semi-finals. The winners of the semi-finals will play for the title on 10th November.

This will be the 12th edition of the competition and will be conducted at various cricketing grounds across the country. Guntur, Mumbai, Raipur, Rajkot and Nagpur are the cities that will serve as the hosts of the tournament. This year for the first time, Chandigarh women’s cricket team will participate in the league.

The 37 participating teams are divided into 5 groups, namely Group A, B, C, D and E.

Group A has teams like Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Andhra, Gujarat, Meghalaya, and Bihar. All the teams will play its league matches at RVR & JC college ground and JKC college ground in Guntur, Andhra Pradesh.

Teams like Railways, Odisha, Vidarbha, Haryana, Rajasthan, Sikkim and Jammu, and Kashmir make the Group B. The initial round matches of Group B will be played at VCA KALAMNA and VCA Stadium, Civil Lines in Nagpur, Maharashtra.

Also Read:  Summary: Andhra defeat Bihar by huge 106 Runs - Senior Women's T20 League 2019

Group C has teams like Karnataka, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Baroda, Tripura, Puducherry and Nagaland. Their league matches will be played at Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana, Kandivali and BKC Ground in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

Group D which consists of last year winners Punjab along with Himachal, Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, and Chandigarh will play its matches in Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium and RDCA Ground, Raipur, Chhattisgarh.

Delhi, Maharashtra, Bengal, Saurashtra, Tamil Nadu, Goa, Arunachal Pradesh, and Mizoram form Group E and these teams will play its initial round matches at Rajkot, Gujarat.

The Super League stage and knockout games will be played at Mulapadu, Andhra Pradesh. Devineni Venkata Ramana Praneetha Ground and Chukkapalli Pitchaiah Cricket Ground are the hosts for the Super League games while the knockout games of semi-finals and the final will take place at Gokaraju Liala Gangaaraju ACA Cricket Ground, Mulapadu.

The win record of Railways in domestic women’s cricket is well known. Having won the Senior Women’s T20 League for a record 8 number of times, they will surely try to dominate the tournament. Punjab, being the defending champions of the last season, will be another team to watch out for. Karnataka, Delhi, Maharashtra, and Hyderabad are other teams that have a good history in this league.

The semifinals between the top two teams of the two groups of Super League stage will be held on 8th November whereas the final between the winners of the semifinals will be held on 10th November in Mulapadu, Andhra Pradesh.

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Group B: Round IV - Ayushi Garg's unbeaten 42 helps Rajasthan win over Sikkim
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here