Women’s World Cup Qualifiers 2017 – All you need to know

February will make the beginning of the much awaited international ODI series where women cricket teams from around the globe will participate to make the ICC Women’s World Cup a gala event to witness. It is going to be the eleventh edition of the World Cup this year and what a better place than England to contain the thrilling experience which creates history every year. It wouldn’t need any more of patience because the Qualifiers are set to get underway from February 7.

The progress of performance at international levels was evaluated and apparently India is at an advantage so far. The other teams have also played very well to get themselves placed in the table at the top of individual groups namely A and B. Asia Cup champions and former World Cup finalists India leads Group A which also consists of Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand. The team at the heading Group B is South Africa which includes Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea.

The Women’s World Cup last year was hosted by India which was in T20 International format between 15 March and April 2016. The tournament consisted of 10 participants where in West Indies has begged the title of the Women’s World Cup 2016. In the tournament final last year, West Indies gained victory over Australia by eight wickets claiming the title for themselves for the first time. Currently, the authorities have announced the event schedule wherein 10 teams will try all their best to get to the remaining four positions. Each side will play four matches in the first round following which top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage, while also carrying forward points they earn against sides which have progressed to the Super Six stage from their group.

Also Read:  4 female cricketers who excelled in other sports as well

The top four sides from the Super Six stage in which each side will play three matches against teams from the other group, will complete the eight-team line-up for the tournament while the top two sides will chase the title in the final. The Qualifiers will soon set started and teams will fight to maintain their stand in this international game. The Qualifiers will provide the exhibits of talented players as they fight for their team to make a way to the tournament ahead.

Here’s all you need to know about Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2017

Group A – India, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand
Group B – South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea

Warm-up matches: Sunday, 5 February  
India v South Africa, P.Sara Stadium;
Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA);
Ireland v Bangladesh, Nondescripts Cricket Club (NCC);
Zimbabwe v Scotland, Colombo Cricket Club (CCC);
Thailand v PNG, Moors Sports Club.

Tournament fixtures (first round)

Tuesday, 7 February 
Sri Lanka v India, P.Sara Stadium;
Ireland v Zimbabwe, MCA;
South Africa v Pakistan, NCC;
Bangladesh v PNG, CCC

Wednesday, 8 February  
Pakistan v Bangladesh, P.Sara Stadium;
Scotland v South Africa, MCA;
Sri Lanka v Ireland, NCC;
India v Thailand, CCC

Friday, 10 February 
India v Ireland, P.Sara Stadium;
Thailand v Zimbabwe, MCA;
PNG v Pakistan, NCC;
Bangladesh v Scotland, CCC.

Saturday, 11 February 
South Africa v Bangladesh, P.Sara Stadium;
Scotland v PNG, MCA;
Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, NCC;
Ireland v Thailand, CCC

Monday, 13 February  
Zimbabwe v India, P.Sara Stadium;
Sri Lanka v Thailand, MCA;
South Africa v PNG, NCC;
Pakistan v Scotland, CCC

Super Six stage (teams to be confirmed after 13 February matches)
Wednesday, 15 February – Match 21, P.Sara Stadium; Match 22, NCC; Match 23, CCC
Friday, 17 February – Match 24, P.Sara Stadium; Match 25, NCC; Match 26, CCC
Sunday, 19 February – Match 27, P.Sara Stadium; Match 28, NCC; Match 29, CCC

Also Read:  Match 18 - New Zealand women vs Pakistan - World Cup 2017

Tuesday, 21 February – FINAL

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here