New Zealand Announced ODI Squad for England Series, Brooke Halliday and Fran Jones gets Maiden Call

The New Zealand team which last played an ODI series against Australia is all set to welcome England to their shores. The two teams will compete against each other in a three-match ODI series which is scheduled to begin from 23rd February.

New Zealand’s squad for the series was announced recently which saw two uncapped players getting a call-up. Left-handed top-order batter Brooke Halliday and left-arm spinner Fran Jonas are the two players who have been called-up based on domestic performances.


New Zealand Women's Cricket team
New Zealand Women’s Cricket team. PC: WhiteFerns/Twitter

Brooke and Fran are both finds of the Hallyburton Johnstone Shield 2020-21 which is New Zealand women’s one-day domestic tournament. While Halliday is the second-highest run-scorer of the tournament, Jonas holds the record of joint second most wickets in the season.

Welcoming Brooke and Fran into the team, White Ferns head coach Bob Carter said, “Brooke and Fran both deserve their call-ups on the back of the strong domestic form. Brooke’s done a superb job at the top of the order for the Spirit and offers a point of difference as a left-hander. Fran’s an exceptional talent who’s proven she can foot it with our top players. It’s exciting to add a left-arm spinner to our squad and the balance that offers our bowling attack.”

“This is a great chance for them to come in and develop their games. We’ve selected them for a reason and look forward to welcoming them into the group. With the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand next year, we want to take this opportunity to build the best possible team for the tournament,” he concluded.

Among those who have missed out are Suzie Bates and Rosemary Mair. Bates is recovering from a shoulder injury while Mair is nursing a side strain.

New Zealand Squad-

Sophie Devine (c), Natalie Dodd, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Frankie Mackay, Katey Martin, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu.

 England Squad-

Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.

Source – ICC

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here