Kiran Navgire led UP Warriorz to its first Victory in WPL 2024

A loss for some is a gain for others as Kiran Navgire and Grace Harris powers the UP Warriorz to their first victory in WPL 2024.

Kiran Navgire led UP Warriorz to its first Victory in WPL 2024
Kiran Navgire led UP Warriorz to its first Victory in WPL 2024

Mumbai Indians led by skipper Harmanpreet Kaur completed a comprehensive 5-wicket victory over Gujarat Giants to make it two in two. The UP Warriorz led by skipper Alyssa Healy suffered a thrashing 9-wicket defeat against the Delhi Capitals in their last game.

The UP Warriorz skipper Alyssa Healy won the toss and opted to field first. Nat Sciver-Brunt walked out at the coin toss as the stand-in skipper for Mumbai Indians as skipper Harmanpreet Kaur missed out courtesy of a niggle. After being inserted to bat first, the openers got off to a solid start as they stitched a 50-run opening partnership before Grace Harris picked up the wicket of wicket-keeper batter Yastika Bhatia to provide the 1st breakthrough for the UP Warriorz.

Skipper Nat Sciver-Brunt joined Hayley Matthews at the crease and the duo stitched another crucial 42-run partnership for the 2nd wicket before the stand-in skipper Nat Sciver-Brunt was found short of her crease to provide the 2nd breakthrough for the UP Warriorz. Opening batter Hayley Matthews soon followed her back to the pavilion to provide the 3rd breakthrough. Pooja Vastrakar joined Amelia Kerr at the crease, and the duo stitched a 29-run partnership for the 4th wicket before Deepti Sharma picked up the big wicket of Amelia Kerr to provide the 4th breakthrough for her side.

Mumbai Indians eventually ended up with a total of 161/6 in their quota of overs courtesy of a power-packed finish from Issy Wong (15 off 6 balls) with the bat. Hayley Matthews (55 off 47 balls), Yastika Bhatia (26 off 22 balls), and Amelia Kerr (23 off 16 balls) were the top performers with the bat for Mumbai Indians. Grace Harris (4-0-20-1), and Sophie Ecclestone (4-0-25-1) were the top performers with the ball for UP Warriorz.

Also Read:  Twitter Reacts: Delhi Capitals' Comfortable Win, UP Warriorz' Tough Luck in WPL 2024

Chasing a target of 162, skipper Alyssa Healy stepped out with a new opening partner in Kiran Navgire courtesy of an injury to Vrinda Dinesh. The situation turned into a blessing in disguise for the UP Warriorz in a potentially tricky run chase. The openers got the Warriorz off to a blazing start, scoring over 10 runs an over before Amelia Kerr provided the much-needed breakthrough, sending Kiran Navgire back to the pavilion. She was taking the game away quickly from Mumbai Indians, scoring at a strike rate of 183.87.

The UP Warriorz suffered a double blow inflicted by Issy Wong in the 11th over of the run chase. With the UP Warriorz at 98/3, Deepti Sharma and Grace Harris joined hands, and the duo took their side over the line with a 65-run 4th-wicket partnership to seal a comprehensive 7-wicket victory over the defending champions Mumbai Indians to get their first points on board. Kiran Navgire (57 off 31 balls), Grace Harris (38 off 17 balls), skipper Alyssa Healy (33 off 29 balls), and Deepti Sharma (27 off 20 balls) were the top performers with the bat for the UP Warriorz. Issy Wong (3-0-30-2), and Amelia Kerr (4-0-34-1) were the top performers with the ball for Mumbai Indians.

Kiran Navgire was awarded the Player of the Match for her match-winning performance (57 off 31 balls) with the bat, scoring the 3rd fastest fifty by an Indian in the WPL. She played a crucial role in helping the UP Warrioz get off to a flying start in the powerplay, scoring 61 runs in the powerplay, their best so far this season.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here