A Record 50 Players are making their T20 World Cup debut in 2020

Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 is all set to begin from 21st February 2020, with the finals to be played on 8th March at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground.


ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020
ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020. Credits: Twitter


The inaugural edition of the tournament was played in 2009. The upcoming tournament is the 7th edition of Women’s T20 World Cup. The shorter format of the game i.e T20 Cricket has seen a drastic change in the last 11 years. With the game moving so fast, the momentum of the T20 Cricket now revolves around power-hitters. Keeping this in mind, all the 10 participating teams in this year’s world cup has worked on their arsenal and stocked big-hitters in the team. Owing to which, teams have seen a lot of shuffles, with youngsters making it to the squad known for their power-hitting abilities.

In all, there are 35 players across 9 teams who shall be making their World Cup debut in the 2020 Women’s World Cup. An important thing to note here is that Thailand, for the very first time, is playing an ICC event and therefore all the 15 members in the squad will be making their World Cup debut.


Players playing their first Women’s T20 World Cup tournament
EA Burns Murshida Khatun FC Wilson Shafali Verma RA Mair Syeda Aroob Shah N de Klerk H Karunaratne CN Nation
A Sutherland S Mostary KL Cross P Vastrakar Jess Kerr Fatima Sana N Shangase U Thimashini SS Grimmond
NJ Carey FR Davies H Deol LR Down Sadia Iqbal N Mlaba ANA de Silva AA Alleyne
Molly Strano S Glenn RM Ghosh Ayesha Naseem WGAKK Kulasuriya LAGL Kirby
MK Villiers Sathya Sandeepani Cherry-Ann Fraser

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Squad for 4 Team Senior Women's T20 Challenger Announced

Liked the story? Leave a comment here