Recap: Summary of Women’s T20 World Cup 2009 | Most Runs | Most Wickets

After the introduction of the Indian Premier League in 2008, there was a craze of the shorter format in the people which led to the first-ever T20 world cup. Let us review the Women’s T20 World cup 2009 in brief.


Winners of 2009 Women's T20 World Cup 2020
Winners of 2009 Women’s T20 World Cup 2020


In 2009 we noticed the first-ever and the most interesting Women’s T20 World Cup. The first edition was held in England. For the first three tournaments, there were eight participants. This tournament was hosted by England and England emerged as champions. The format for this world cup was group stage between two pools A and B and then knockout in semis and final.

All the pool matches were played at the County Ground in Taunton. The women’s competition was also shorter than men’s which lasted only for 10 days as opposed to 16 for men’s, however, the semis and finals were held on the same day for women’s.

Pool ANew Zealand, Australia, West Indies, and South Africa.

Pool B – England, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

After a total of 12 group stage matches, Pool A was topped by New Zealand and Pool B was topped by England. In Semifinal 1 which was between New Zealand women and Indian women, New Zealand won by 52 runs. In the Semifinal 2, the clash was between 2 giants, England and Australia in which England women won by 8 wickets.

NOW THE FINAL: New Zealand Women vs England Women

England and New Zealand contested the final at Lord’s, with the host nation bowling out the visitors for 85. All credit goes to the Women of the match Katherine Brunt’s opening spell of 3 for 6. In batting England’s star batswomen and Women of the series Claire Taylor took the home team to a comfortable six-wicket victory.

Also Read:  Know Your Player - Poonam Yadav

New Zealand 85 (20/20 overs): England 86/4 (17/20 overs)

England Women won by 6 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)

#Most Runs:

Aimee Watkins – 200 runs in 5 matches (New Zealand)

Claire Taylor – 199 runs in 5 matches (England)

Charlotte Edwards – 139 runs in 5 matches (England)

Suzie Bates – 136 runs in 5 matches (New Zealand)

Shelley Nitschke – 130 runs in 4 matches (New Zealand)

#Most Wickets:

Holly Colvin – 9 wickets in 5 matches (ENG)

EshaniKaushalya – 8 wickets in 3 matches (SL)

Shabnim Ismail – 7 wickets in 3 matches (SA)

Sian Ruck – 7 wickets in 5 matches (NZ)

Priyanka Roy – 6 wickets in 4 matches (IND)

#Most Dismissals as a Wicket Keeper:

Rachel Priest – 5 dismissals in 5 matches (NZ)

Sarah Taylor – 5 dismissals in 5 matches (ENG)

Jodie Fields – 4 dismissals in 4 matches (AUS)

Sulakshana Naik – 4 dismissals in 4 matches (IND)

Merissa Aguilleira – 3 dismissals in 3 matches (WI)

After the tournament came to an end, ICC experts picked up the best XI from the players in the Women’s T20 World Cup:

  1. Shelley Nitschke (AUS)
  2. Charlotte Edwards (ENG)
  3. Claire Taylor (ENG)
  4. Aimee Watkins (NZ)
  5. Sarah Taylor (ENG)
  6. Suzie Bates (NZ
  7. Lucy Doolan (NZ)
  8. RumeliDhar (IND)
  9. Holly Colvin (ENG)
  10. Sian Ruck (NZ)
  11. Laura Marsh (ENG)

Female Cricket is a digital news portal that aims to spread, share and celebrate the journey of our female cricketers around the world.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here