Indian Squad for Women’s Asia Cup T20 2024 Announced

The upcoming 2024 Women’s Asia Cup will be the ninth edition of the tournament, scheduled from July 19 to July 28, 2024, in Sri Lanka. It will feature eight teams, with all matches played as Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is), keeping in mind the T20 World Cup that follows shortly after. The tournament format includes a group round-robin stage followed by knockout rounds. On Saturday 6 July, the Women’s Selection Committee revealed the Team India (Senior Women) squad for the tournament.

Indian Squad for Women’s Asia Cup T20 2024 Announced:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Richa Ghosh (WK), Uma Chetry (WK), Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy, Renuka Singh Thakur, Dayalan Hemalatha, Asha Sobhana, Radha Yadav, Shreyanka Patil, Sajana Sajeevan

Traveling reserves: Shweta Sehrawat, Saika Ishaque, Tanuja Kanwer, Meghna Singh

The Indian team announced that Saika Ishaque, a slow left-arm orthodox bowler, last played a T20I against England in 2023, recording her personal best of 3/22. Tanuja Kanwer, who represented Gujarat Giants in the Women’s Premier League and took 10 wickets in the 2024 edition, is yet to play for the senior team. Meghna Singh, who has played nine T20I matches for India, last competed against Australia in 2022. Shweta Sehrawat, vice-captain of the victorious U-19 India team, has not yet debuted for the senior team and is among the travelling reserves.

Compared to the squad for the recent South Africa T20I series at home, Shabnam Shakil and Amanjot Kaur were not included in the Indian squad for this tournament.

India, placed in Group A, will play their opening game against Pakistan on July 19, 2024. The Harmanpreet Kaur-led side will then face UAE on July 21, 2024, followed by a match against Nepal on July 23, 2024, in the group stage.

Women’s Asia Cup T20, 2024 – India’s Fixtures
No. Date Day Match Venue
1 19-Jul-24 Friday India vs Pakistan Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla
2 21-Jul-24 Sunday India vs UAE Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla
3 23-Jul-24 Tuesday India vs Nepal Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Dambulla
Also Read:  Analysing India A squad for Emerging Women's Asia Cup

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here