Cricket ACT’s Female T20 Bash to launch in Canberra

Cricket Australian Capital Territory (ACT) has decided to launch a T20 competition for its female cricket players. The Female T20 Bash aims to bridge the gap between Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) and Canberra’s grade competition.

Eastern Fever players at the launch of the Female T20 Bash
Eastern Fever players at the launch of the Female T20 Bash (

Four teams will participate in the Female T20 Bash, namely – Eastern Fever, Southern Pride, Northern Frenzy and Western Crash.

As reported by Caden Helmers of Canberra Times, Cricket ACT chief executive James Allsopp is excited and feels that the league is almost like ‘our own version of the Big Bash’,

“Some of the rookie players are anywhere between 13 and 18 years old, and they get an opportunity to play with girls who have represented not just the Meteors but Australian teams,” he said.

Western District’s medium pacer Alisa Clark applauded the initiative. “To have competitions like this where we can promote cricket and get these junior girls staying in Canberra and not going to Sydney, it’s really important and something we need to keep striving for,” she said.

The four teams will constitute players from the original ACT Meteors squad. It will be a mix of newbies and seasoned players. Some of the girls have already represented Meteors and some have also played for Australia. It will be a learning experience for young girls.

Team Eastern Fever will be captained by Maitlan Brown while Zoe Cooke will head Northern Frenzy. Erica Kershaw will lead Western Crash while Anna Lanning who featured in this year’s WBBL will be the captain of Southern Pride.

The competition will kick off on December 14. The initial games will be played in a round-robin format. There will also be a third-place playoff while the top two teams will play the final on January 17. Scroll down to have a look at the complete squads and fixtures.

Also Read:  Stacey Oates, A 23-year-old cricketer earns her first State cricket contract

Female T20 Bash squads-

Eastern Fever squad:
Maitlan Brown (captain), Liz Coper-Jones (vice-captain), Yasmin Welsford (wicketkeeper), Amy Yates, Amy Jason Jones, Georgia Bye, Monica Gair, Cherie Taylor, Madelyne Czubara, Rachel Kincaid, Mikaylah John, Tayah Hancock.
Rookies: Lucy Jones, Chloe McGann.
Coach: David Drew.

Northern Frenzy squad:
Zoe Cooke (captain), Jade Allen (vice-captain), Carly Leeson, Tilly Lugg (wicketkeeper), Erin Osborne, Claire Murray, Jessie Mudaliar, Amy Wells, Sophie Heath, Sharna Mitchell, Talia Moreton-Stewart, Grace Kuchlmayr.
Rookies: Stella Wilde, Amber Smith.
Coach: Erin Osborne.

Western Crash squad:
Erica Kershaw (captain, wicketkeeper), Grace Lyons (vice-captain), Nic Hancock, Maddie Penna, Clare Levings, Katie Mack, Jess Galeano, Julia Bassett, Kristen McCormack, Melanie Tiffen, Jemma Pollock, Alisa Clark.
Rookies: Sarah Quilty, Alana Horsfall.
Coach: Jono Dean.

Southern Pride squad:
Anna Lanning (captain), Kelly Rowlings (vice-captain), Sarah Coyte, Caitlin Galeano (wicketkeeper), Izzy Afaras, Mia Phelps, Janet King, Jamie Kneebone, Allison McGrath, Tyjana Blacka, Isabella Grieg, Victoria King, Kaylee Trenerry.
Rookies: Bridgitte Anable, Rachel Carroll.
Coach: Ange Reakes.

Female T20 Bash fixtures

Round one: December 14
Northern Frenzy v Southern Pride at Kippax No 1 Oval, 10 am.
Eastern Fever v Western Crash at Kippax No 2 Oval, 10 am.

Round two: December 14
Northern Frenzy v Eastern Fever at Kippax No 1 Oval, 2.30 pm.
Southern Pride v Western Crash at Kippax No 2 Oval, 2.30 pm.

Round three: December 21
Northern Frenzy v Western Crash at Harrison No 1 Oval, 10 am.
Eastern Fever v Southern Pride at Harrison No 2 Oval, 10 am.

Round four: January 11
Northern Frenzy v Southern Pride at Phillip Oval, 10 am.
Eastern Fever v Western Crash at Mawson Turf Oval, 10 am.

Also Read:  "It’s all sounding very exciting for The Hundred," says Meg Lanning

Rookie exhibition match: January 17
An exhibition featuring players aged 12 to 15 at Phillip Oval, 10 am.

Third place playoff: January 17
Third place v Fourth place at Phillip Oval, 2 pm.

Final: January 17
First place v Second place at Phillip Oval, 6 pm.

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here