Bangladesh women’s cricket team departs for South Asian Games

The Bangladesh national team departed for Kathmandu and Pokhara to take part in the South Asian Games. Bangladesh Women, who are going to participate in the cricket competition at the South Asian Games for the first time, are very excited.

Bangladesh Women's Cricket Team
Bangladesh Women’s Cricket Team. Pic Credits – PTI

Bangladesh Women recently toured Pakistan playing 3 T20I and 2 ODI games. While Pakistan had a clean sweep in the T20I series, the Bangla tigresses managed to win the second ODI.

Women’s cricket has been added to the South Asian games for the first time and Bangladesh are going to participate in the cricket tournament with the likes of India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and Maldives. It will be a T20 cricket tournament which will be played in the 13th South Asian Games.

While Group A has Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, and Bhutan, Bangladesh are placed in Group B alongside Maldives and Pakistan.

The South Asian Games are going to be held in Nepal and the Bangladesh women’s team has departed for the same.

Jahanara Alam, the country’s ace pacer said that they are aiming for nothing less than the gold medal. “Our main goal in the event is to win the gold medal”, said Alam to Dhaka Tribune.

The Bangladesh Ministry of Youth and Sports has also announced reward money for the medal winners of the tournament. Each player of the champion and gold medal-winning teams will get Tk 1 lakh whereas Tk 50,000 and Tk 30,000 will be awarded to the players who win silver and bronze medals in team events.

Bangladesh will play their first game of the tournament against the Maldives on coming Monday while they’ll take on Pakistan on Thursday. Top 2 teams from both the groups will advance to the semifinals. The final match will be played between the winners of the semifinals on 9th December.

Bangladesh Women’s squad for the South Asian Games:

Salma Khatun (C), Nigar Sultana, Jahanara Alam, Ayesha Rahman, Fargana Haque, Murshida Khatun, Sanjida Islam, Shabnam Mostary, Fahima Khatun, Shamima Sultana, Nahida Akter, Khadija-tul Kubra, Ritu Moni, Rabeya and Puja Chakrabarty

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Summary: 2nd T20I - Bismah Maroof and Javeria Khan give Pakistan an unassailable lead of 2-0 over Bangladesh, win series
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here