Veda Krishnamurthy to lead India ‘A’ squad for upcoming Australia tour

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee on Thursday after a meeting in Kolkata announced the squad for the India ‘A’ squad for their tour of Australia kicking off on December 12 with the ODI games to be played in Brisbane and the T20 games in Gold Coast.

The 15-member squad will be led by India’s middle-order batter Veda Krishnamurthy and she will be assisted by Maharashtra’s Anuja Patil. The squad also includes India’s 15-year-old sensation Shafali Verma who was the star performer in India’s tour of West Indies and was also declared the ‘Player of the Series’.

The 13-member Australia ‘A’ squad will be led by Tahila McGrath and includes the likes of the experienced Elyse Villani; Belinda Vakarewa, Maitlan Brown and Molly Strano who’ve been performing well for their sides in WBBL. Phoebe Litchfield, the 16-year-old Sydney Sixers’ star performer has been included too.

“It’s important that that the depth of Australian Cricket continues to develop, with those players who have already had a taste on international cricket continuing to build their game and develop so they’re ready to go when the opportunity presents itself,” said Australian National Selector Shawn Flegler. “With a T20 World Cup early next year and an ODI World Cup the following year, it’s exciting to see so many talented youngsters coming through the pathway and performing well and this tour is really going to test them against what we expect to be a strong Indian side,” he added.

‘A’ women’s squad: Veda Krishnamurthy (Captain), Anuja Patil (vice-captain), Priya Punia, Shafali Verma, Harleen Deol, Devika Vaidya, D Hemalatha, Tanusree Sarkar, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Nuzhat Parween (wicket-keeper), Mansi Joshi, Arundhati Reddy, Renuka Singh, Manali Dakshini, T P Kanwar.

Australia A One-Day squad: Maitlan Brown, Heather Graham, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Georgia Redmayne, Sammy Jo Johnson, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tahlia Wilson

Also Read:  Happy Birthday Javeria Khan

Australia A T20 Squad: Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Josie Dooley, Heather Graham, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Sammy Jo Johnson, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Source: CricketAustralia

Female Cricket is a digital news portal that aims to spread, share and celebrate the journey of our female cricketers around the world.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here