Here’s everything you need to know about Women’s Under 23 T20 Trophy 2019 in India

Here’s everything you need to know about Women’s Under 23 T20 Trophy 2019 in India.

Under 23 Women’s T20 League is all set to kick off in India. The tournament is an Indian domestic competition for Under-23 women cricketers in the T20 format. The league will kick off on 12th November this year. It is an annual tournament played between the domestic teams of India. A total of 142 matches will be played between 12th November to 5th December this season. 37 teams representing various states, union territories and cities will take part in this tournament. The 37 teams are divided into 5 groups namely A, B, C, D, and E. They will be playing against each other in a round-robin format followed by a super league stage. The winner team will be decided by the final match which will be played between the winners of the two semi-finals.

The teams placed in the same group will play against each other in the first stage of the tournament. The league matches will be played till 21st November. After that two teams from each group will advance to the Super League stage which will be played till 1st December. The semi-finals will be played on 3rd December while the final will be played on 5th December.

Group A has teams like Assam, Bihar, Uttarakhand, Delhi, Kerala, Railways and Tripura. They will be playing their matches in Guwahati, Assam. Judges Field and NFRSA Ground will be the two stadiums where the matches will be held. Group B has teams such as Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Vidarbha. RSI Cricket Ground, IAF Cricket Ground, Alur Cricket Stadium III in Bangalore will be the venue grounds.

Also Read:  Smriti Mandhana wins the Wisden India Almanack 'Cricketer of the Year' award

Teams like Baroda, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Manipur, Nagaland and Saurashtra make up Group C. They will be playing their matches at Shastri Medan, Anand, and Gokulbhai Somabhai Patel Stadium, Nadiad. Chandigarh, Andhra, Arunachal Pradesh, Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Himachal, and Odisha are placed in Group D. The venues of their matches are yet to be decided.

Group E has Mizoram, Pondicherry, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu. Their matches will be played at Siechem Stadium and CAP Ground 2 at Puducherry.

The Super League matches will be held at Siechem Stadium and CAP Ground 2 at Puducherry. The knockout matches will be held at SLIMS Cricket Ground in the same city.

Women’s T20 league is an interstate domestic tournament that gives a platform to the young female players of the country. The format is similar to men’s Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy and will give the under-23 women cricketers good exposure in competitive cricket.

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here