Summary: India Women’s A team post a dominating win over their Bangladesh A in the only T20 match of the series

After the two matches of the T20 series between Bangladesh A and India A were washed out, the third and final match of the series saw the light of the day. India Women’s A team posted a target of 112 runs for the Bangladesh Women’s A team and successfully defended the total, winning the match by 30 runs.

Devika Vaidya
Devika Vaidya

The third T20 between the two sides was held in Sheikh Kamal International Stadium, Coxs Bazar. Bangladesh A won the toss and decided to field first.

India started their innings with openers Yastika Bhatia and S Meghana making a partnership of 27 runs. But in the 5th over, Yastika fell only scoring 18 runs and two overs henceforth, Meghana followed suit, scoring 11 off 15 balls. Captain Devika Vaidya scored a handy 20-ball 19 runs while Minnu Mani was run out by Fahima Khatun when she was on 1. R Kalpana 8(13) and Tanushree Sarkar 15(12) added valuable runs to the team’s scoreboard while Tejal Hasabnis 28(32) and Sushree Dibyadarshini 7(5) remained not out in the end. India Women A team scored 111 runs from their 20 overs losing 7 wickets. Bangladesh’s Khadiza Tul Kubra led the way with 3 wickets while Mumtahena Hasnat scalped 2 wickets.

India started their bowling innings well, preventing Bangladesh to score freely in the initial overs. Wickets fell in consecutive overs and when Fargana Haque Pinky fell in the 6th over, the scorecard of Bangladesh A read 14/3. Captain Shaila Sharmin departed after scoring 12 runs in 22 balls. Nuzhat Tumpa and Fahima Khatun build a decent stand to take their team from 35/5 to 65/6, but both fell in consecutive balls off T P Kanwar in the 17th over. Sobhana Mostary then added 12 runs from 13 balls. Bangladesh Women’s A team ended their innings on 81/9, giving India Women’s A team a win by 30 runs. Kanwar was brilliant, taking 3 wickets while Meghana took two. Tanushree Sarkar, Simran Dil Bahadur and Sushree Dibyadarshini scalped one wicket apiece.

Also Read:  As Sri Lanka Cricket gives out central contracts to its women's team, we discuss contractual teams in Women's Cricket

India Women’s A: 111/7 in 20 overs
Bangladesh Women’s A: 81/9 in 20 overs
Result: India Women’s A won by 30 runs
Player of the match: T P Kanwar

Loves all things female cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here