Summary: Devika Vaidya’s all round performance hands India A 3-0 victory over Bangladesh A

India A women’s team had a clean sweep over their Bangladesh counterparts in the ODI series that just concluded this Tuesday.

Devika Vaidya
Devika Vaidya. Pic Credits

In the 3rd and final ODI of the series, dominant India secured a comfortable win over Bangladesh courtesy Devika Vaidya’s performance with both bat and ball. Bangladesh A set a target of 129 and India A chased down the score with more than 10 overs to spare.

Bangladesh A women won the toss thrice in a row and elected to bat first. Opener Mursida Khatun scored a well made 33 of 56 balls also forming a partnership with Fargana Haque Pinky who departed after scoring 16 runs. After Mursida was caught in the 21st over by Sushree Dibyadarshini of Rashi Kanojia, it was Sanjida Islam who took over the reins.

The next 3 wickets fell in a span of 4 runs having Sanjida at one end bereft of partners. Then along with Fahima Khatun, she stitched a small partnership before Khatun and then Sobhana Mostary fell out in packs, the latter departing on a diamond duck after Manali Dakshini rendered her run-out. Bangladesh got bowled out in the 45th over after setting India a target of 128 runs. Sanjida was the only batter who remained unbeaten and scored 44 runs in 87 balls. From India’s bowling line-up, Tanushree Sarkar and Rashi Kanojia were exceptional taking 3 wickets each. Captain Devika Vaidya bagged 2 wickets while Sushree Dibyadarshini scalped one.

In response, India started strongly with the openers forming a good partnership. But this was cut short when S Meghana was stumped in the 9th over and she had to depart after scoring only 19 runs. Number 3 batter Tanushree could only score 3 runs before being trapped LBW by Shaila Sharmin. Then the captain Devika Vaidya and Yastika Bhatia took forward the game by forming a formidable partnership. From 37/2 in the 14th over, they took India A’s score to 106/3 in the 32nd over, when Bhatia was run out by Khadiza Tul Kubra. Minnu Mani was the last Indian batter to come to the crease who scored 14 runs and along with her captain, took India to the victorious side. India A won the match by 7 wickets in the 40th over of the second innings. From Bangladesh’s side, Khadiza Tul Kubra and Shaila Sharmin took one wicket each.

Also Read:  WPL 2024: Best Starting Playing XI for Mumbai Indians (MI)

Devika Vaidya was awarded the Player of the match award courtesy her 42 runs and 2 wickets.

Bangladesh Women’s A innings: 128/10 in 44.4 overs

India Women’s A innings: 132/3 in 39.2 overs

Result: India Women’s A won by 7 wickets

Player of the match: Devika Vaidya

Loves all things female cricket

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here