UAE squad for Quadrangular series and ICC Qualifier 2024 Announced, Esha Oza to lead

In the upcoming 2024 Women’s Twenty20 (T20) World Cup Global Qualifier, ten teams will vie for two spots in the 2024 Women’s T20 World Cup, all set to unfold in Abu Dhabi. In the lead-up to the qualifier, the hosts, United Arab Emirates (UAE), will engage in a Quadrangular series. Emirates Cricket has unveiled its squads for both events.

UAE squad for Quadrangular series and ICC Qualifier 2024 Announced, Esha Oza to lead
UAE squad for Quadrangular series and ICC Qualifier 2024 Announced, Esha Oza to lead

The Quadrangular series is slated to take place at Zayed Cricket Stadium and the Tolerance Oval. UAE are scheduled to compete against the Netherlands on April 16, the United States of America on April 17, and Scotland on April 19.

Quadrangular Series Schedule –

United Arab Emirates vs Netherlands
Zayed Cricket Stadium
Scotland vs United States of America
United States of America vs United Arab Emirates
Zayed Cricket Stadium
Scotland v Netherlands
United States of America v Netherlands
Tolerance Oval
Scotland v United Arab Emirates

Starting April 25, the ICC Global Qualifier kicks off, featuring UAE, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uganda, USA, Vanuatu, and Zimbabwe. Placed in Group B, the hosts will lock horns with Ireland, Netherlands, Vanuatu, and Zimbabwe.

United Arab Emirates (UAE) T20 World Cup Global Qualifier Schedule –

25-Apr-24 v Ireland Zayed Cricket Stadium
27-Apr-24 v Zimbabwe Tolerance Oval
29-Apr-24 v Netherlands Zayed Cricket Stadium
03-May-24 v Vanuatu Zayed Cricket Stadium
05-May-24 Semi-Finals Zayed Cricket Stadium
07-May-24 Final Zayed Cricket Stadium

Following the qualifier, the finalists will join the top six teams from the 2023 T20 World Cup – Australia, South Africa, England, India, New Zealand, and the West Indies – Bangladesh, securing qualification as hosts, and Pakistan, based on their Women’s T20I team rankings, completing the lineup.

Also Read:  Match 3 – Hong Kong vs UAE Women | Fantasy XI | Players to Watch | Live Streaming

The UAE last took the field earlier this year, in February, during the Final of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Women’s Premier Cup. Retaining the core group from the title-winning team, UAE has made only one change, dropping Rishitha Rajith, who didn’t feature in any game. With the inclusion of Avanee Sunil Patel and Lavanya Keny, led by Esha Oza, UAE has finalized a 15-member squad for both the Quadrangular and ICC events.

United Arab Emirates (UAE) Squad:

Esha Oza (C), Al Maseera Jahangir, Avanee Sunil Patel, Heena Harish Hotchandani, Indhuja Nandakumar, Kavisha Kumari Egodage, Khushi Mohan Sharma, Lavanya Keny, Mehak Thakur, Rinitha Rajith, Samaira Dharnidharka, Siya Swarup Gokhale, Suraksha Kotte, Theertha Satish, Vaishnave Mahesh

In the ACC event, UAE’s Esha and Kavisha topped the scoring charts with 249 and 218 runs respectively from 6 outings, while Heena, Vaishnave, and Kavisha led the wickets tally with 13, 12, and 8 wickets respectively. Upon her return to the national setup, Heena showcased outstanding performances, while other key players also met expectations.

UAE has recalled all-rounder Lavanya Keny, with 28 T20Is under her belt, who has contributed 153 runs and taken 8 wickets. Additionally, 16-year-old pacer Avanee Sunil Patel has also been added to the squad.

The return of Lavanya, once a regular in the team, undoubtedly bolsters the squad, and the Quadrangular series ahead of the ICC Global Qualifier will serve as ideal preparation. With a home advantage and a strong unit, the UAE poses a formidable challenge for their opponents.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here