Karnataka Premier League to host women matches

Veda Krishnamurthy Karnataka Premier League
Veda Krishnamurthy at Karnataka Premier League’s 2019 Launch event

The Karnataka Premier League will feature a six-match women’s cricket event in Bengaluru this year. Three teams, namely, Belagavi Panthers, Shivamogga Lions and Bijapur Bulls will compete twice against each other. The women’s competition will be played from 18th August to 24th August before the men’s games.

Just before the men’s final on August 31, the top two women’s teams will also play the final exhibition match in Mysuru.

Assistant Secretary of Karnataka State Cricket Association, Santosh Menon said, “Three franchises have agreed to sponsor the women’s teams. In Mysuru, there will be one exhibition match like we usually have. The teams for the exhibition match will be picked from the pool of players from those three teams.”

Welcoming the initiative, India player Veda Krishnamurthy, said, “I’m very excited because franchise cricket is great fun. It also gives players a lot of exposure and match practice going into the season. It also helps in building camaraderie and healthy competition among players.”

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  Preview: 2nd T20 – India Women vs West Indies Women, Squads, Head-to-Head, Dream-XI Fantasy Cricket Tips, Playing XI, Pitch & Injury Report
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here