All you need to know about 2024 Nigeria Invitational Women’s T20I Tournament

The Nigeria Invitational Women’s Twenty20 International (T20I) Tournament is set for its 4th edition from the 25th of February, 2024, to the 3rd of March, 2024, at Tafawa Balewa Square Cricket Oval, Lagos. Defending champions Nigeria will be joined by Rwanda, Sierra Leone, and Tanzania in this edition. From format and broadcasting to squads and schedule, here’s everything you need to know about this competition.

Nigeria Women's Cricket Team.
Nigeria Women’s Cricket Team.

First played in 2019, the bilateral series featured hosts Nigeria facing off against Rwanda, with the hosts clinching the series 3-2. In 2022, the tournament expanded to include Gambia, Ghana, and Sierra Leone. Nigeria and Rwanda battled it out, with the latter emerging victorious. The following season in 2023 saw Cameroon making their debut, replacing Gambia who withdrew for personal reasons. Once again, it was a showdown between Nigeria and Rwanda in the final, with Nigeria emerging triumphant, winning their 2nd title.


A total of 12 matches will be played with no knockouts or final listed. Each team will go up against the other twice, and the top-seeded team in the 4-team points table will take home the championship.


Nigeria – Etim Blessing, Sunday Salome, Christabel Chukwuonye, Esther Odunayo, Igbobie Abigail, Etim Sarah, Eseigbe Favour, Adekunle Shola, Agboya Peculiar, Lucky Piety, Esther Sandy, Abdulrasaq Rukayat, Igbinedion Victory, Samson Rachael

Rwanda – Marie Diane Bimenyimana (C), Alice Ikuzwe, Gisele Ishimwe, Merveille Uwase, Belise Murekatete, Clarrise Umutoniwase, Flora Irakoze, Geovanis Uwase, Josiane Nyirankundineza, Marie Josee Tumukunde, Therese Henriette Ishimwe, Rosine Irera, Immaculee Muhawenimana, Zurufat Ishimwe Mutoniwase, Sylivie Usabyimana

Also Read:  Uganda beat Kenya to win Kenya Quadrangular Tournament 2022-23

Tanzania – Neema Justin (C), Aisha Mohammed, Agnes Joseph, Hudaa Omary, Mwanaaid Ammy, Mwanamvua Hamisi, Perice Kamunya, Saidat Simba, Saum Borakambi, Sheila Shamte, Sophia Frank, Swaum Deo, Swaum Godfrey, Tabu Saidi
Reserve – Josephine Shirima, Rahma Yahya

Sierra Leone – Fatmata Parkinson (C), Aminata Kamara, Zainab Kamara, Ann Marie Kamara, Linda Bull, Celina Bull, Marie Turay, Theresa Tommy, Ramatu Turay, Hassanatu Sawaneh, Fatu Pessima, Alice Fillie, Janet Kowa, Jane Newland
Reserve – Patricia Pratt


Tanzania v Rwanda 10:00 AM
Nigeria v Sierra Leone 2:15 PM
Tanzania v Nigeria 10:00 AM
Rwanda v Sierra Leone 2:15 PM
Nigeria v Rwanda 10:00 AM
Sierra Leone v Tanzania 2:15 PM
Tanzania v Rwanda 10:00 AM
Nigeria v Sierra Leone 2:15 PM
Rwanda v Sierra Leone 10:00 AM
Tanzania v Nigeria 2:15 PM
Sierra Leone v Tanzania 10:00 AM
Nigeria v Rwanda 2:15 PM

*All games will be played at Tafawa Balewa Square Cricket Oval, Lagos


All games of the tournament will be live-streamed on FanCode, and a Facebook/YouTube link could also be made available.

Played days out from the Africa Games, scheduled from the 7th to the 23rd of March 2024, the Nigeria Invitational Women’s T20I Tournament will act as a good lead-up for Nigeria, Tanzania, and Rwanda, who are scheduled to contest in the 13th Games.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here