Namibia to replace Zimbabwe in ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019

Namibia women are set to compete in the ICC’s Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 following the suspension of Zimbabwe team from all ICC events recently. 

Zimbabwe Women's Cricket Team
Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket Team. Pic Credits

Namibia comes into frame for the replacement by the virtue of their finishing spot in the Africa regional qualifiers. They had lost the final to Zimbabwe Women and are selected as the second best performers of the regional qualifiers. This maintains the balance of regional representation in the global qualifying events.

However, Zimbabwe Captain Mary-Anne Musonda wasn’t very happy with this decision of ICC and took to Twitter to express her disappointment.

The Women’s T20 World Cup qualifiers 2019 are scheduled to be held in Scotland later this month. Along with Namibia, hosts Scotland will be joined by Bangladesh Women, Ireland Women, Netherlands Women, Papua New Guinea Women, Thailand Women and USA Women to compete for the remaining two spots of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.

It is a great opportunity for the women’s team of the associate country to experience playing against teams of other regions and improve their game by competing at international level.

Vishal Yadav, Founder & CEO at Female Cricket

On a mission to promote women’s cricket around the world! Follow our story:

Also Read:  Regional Women’s Cricket trials of Ghaziabad on August 9

Yourstory | Feminism in India | CricketGraph

Liked the story? Leave a comment here