Mumbai’s Rizvi College claims title at Red Bull Campus Cricket 2023

The 2023 edition of the RedBull Campus Cricket witnessed Mumbai’s Rizvi College being crowned champions in a thrilling final that took place on June 2, 2023, at the Abhimanyu Cricket Academy in Dehradun. They emerged victorious against Ranchi’s RTC College, securing the title in an exhilarating showdown.

Mumbai's Rizvi College claims title at RedBull Campus Cricket 2023. PC: Twitter
Mumbai’s Rizvi College claims title at RedBull Campus Cricket 2023. PC: Twitter

Rizvi College – 104/9 (20.0)

Opting to bat first, Mumbai’s openers took the strike and started with a cautious first-wicket partnership of 29 runs. Tushi Shah departed after scoring 16 runs, followed shortly by fellow opener Mansi Patil, who scored a fine 22 off 18 balls. Shampy Kumari dominated the Mumbai middle order, dismissing Aachal, Jhanvi, and Sejal for scores of 16, 3, and 10 respectively. As a result, Mumbai found themselves at 69/4 inside 14 overs.

Mumbai’s innings went from bad to worse as the fall of wickets continued with Shraddha (7) and Tanisha (12) adding to the list in the penultimate over. Mumbai’s innings came to a close with a total of 104 runs on the board in the allotted 20 overs. Shampy Kumari (3/20), Priti Kumari (3/22), and Pragati Kumari (2/15 in 4 overs) performed exceptionally well, tilting the game firmly in Ranchi’s favor.

RTC College – 94/7 (20.0)

In reply, Ranchi’s openers Kumari Savitasi and Anamika Kumari started cautiously, adopting a defensive approach. However, Anamika Kumari was dismissed after scoring 15 runs off 27 balls, leaving Ranchi at 37 runs at the end of the 8th over. While Vijeeta played defensively, Savitasi shifted gears and the duo formed a 33-run partnership, taking the total to 70 runs by the 15th over. However, it wasn’t long before Savitasi also departed in the 17th over with the team’s score at 78 runs.

Also Read:  New Zealand Women's tour of West Indies | Complete Schedule

Ranchi’s batting struggled as Sandhya and Sulekha could only manage scores of 5 each, while Chandmumi contributed with 7 runs, and eventually were restricted to a total of 94/7, falling short by a teasing 10-run margin. Mumbai’s Jagravi Pawar and Jhanvi Kate were among the wicket-takers, while most bowlers maintained economical spells.

Result: Rizvi College won by 10 runs

Liked the story? Leave a comment here