All you need to know about India vs Australia Women’s 5 T20I Series

India and Australia are all set to go head-to-head in a 5-match T20 International series which commences on Friday, December 9. The 1st and 2nd T20I will all be played at the DY Patil Sports Academy Stadium in Mumbai and the 3rd, 4th and 5th T20I will be played at the Brabourne Stadium.

All you need to know about India vs Australia Women's 5 T20I Series. PC ShayanAcharya / Twitter
All you need to know about India vs Australia Women’s 5 T20I Series. PC ShayanAcharya / Twitter


This will be Team India’s first appearance in the format after the victorious Asia Cup campaign in October in which they beat Sri Lanka in the summit clash by 8 wickets. Australia’s last outing in the format was also a memorable one, having won Gold at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. The win helped them complete the treble – both white ball world cups and the commonwealth triumph in a single year.

However, cricket, with its jam-packed schedule doesn’t give victors too much time to celebrate, just like it doesn’t give losers too much time to sulk. This series is an important one for the two sides as they both look to kick off their preparations for the upcoming Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa. Australia, under new skipper, Alyssa Healy will look to continue their dominance while India will be eager to test themselves in a high-pressure situation in front of the home crowd.

Both the squads have new coaches as well with Hrishikesh Kanitakar taking up the role of batting coach ahead of the series. From the Australians’ point of view, this will be the first series in charge for Shelley Nitschke, who previously served as the interim coach.

Also Read:  How kids' play equipment is great to build motor skills/strength?

Schedule: Australia Women’s tour of India 2022

1st T20I December 9
2nd T20I December 11
3rd T20ID December 14
4th T20I December 17
5th T20I December 20

Where can you watch India vs Australia Women’s 2022 Series?

All the games of this series will be broadcasted on Star Sports which has a bumper schedule lined up with the U-19 World Cup and T20 World Cup to follow. The matches will start at 7 p.m. IST with the toss to be held at 6:30 p.m. IST.

Squads: Australia Women’s tour of India 2022

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Devika Vaidya, S Meghana, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol

Australia: Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland

Australia has 2 potential debutants in their squad with the likes of Phoebe Litchfield, Kim Garth, and Heather Graham looking to earn their first caps. From the Indian contingent, Anjali Sarvani is in line for a debut.

Ticket and Entry Information for the Match

The entry is free for the fans and they can collect the passes from the gate of the stadiums (as per a recent report in Times of India)

Let us know who you think will emerge victorious in the series, by tagging us on our social media channels.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here