Schedule for England Women’s Domestic 2022 Competitions Announced

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced domestic fixtures for the upcoming, 2023 calendar. The 50-over, Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy fixture sees a doubled count of matches, while the Charlotte Edwards Cup with the eight teams forming one group and playing home or away, meaning there’ll be seven group fixtures per team.


Schedule for England Women's Domestic 2022 Competitions  Announced. PC: Getty Images
Schedule for England Women’s Domestic 2022 Competitions Announced. PC: Getty Images

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2022

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy fixtures get underway on the 22nd of April with the second and third rounds scheduled to be played over the following Bank Holiday weekend. The fixtures have doubled in size with the one group of eight regional teams now playing home and away fixtures, meaning 14 group fixtures per team.

Defending champions, Northern Diamonds begin at home playing Western Storm at Headingley. The Blaze, the new home of women’s regional cricket in the East Midlands is scheduled to begin their new era on the 22nd of April. The tournament has its Finals set to be played on the 24th of September at the County Ground, Northampton

Charlotte Edwards Cup 2022

There will be 20 double-headers played this time around in the Charlotte Edwards Cup and the Vitality Blast matches will be played from the 25th of May 25 to the 7th of June. As many as 17 venues will host doubleheaders including Blackpool.

There is one more fixture for each team this season with the 8 teams forming one group and playing home or away, meaning seven group fixtures per team. The competition gets underway in the twilight period at the Cloud County Ground on the 18th of May with Sunrisers playing Central Sparks and will have its Finals played at the New Road on June 10.

Also Read:  Annabel Sutherland's Century goes in vain as Skye Bowden goes for maximum in last-ball thriller

One-Day Cup 2022

The One-Day Cup group stage fixtures will be played alongside The Hundred, starting 1st of August. Defending champions Kent will get their season underway playing Yorkshire at Scarborough. All the 18 First Class Counties will play against a national county in warm-up games on July 30. Sussex and Somerset will play a further game each on August 1.

Outgrounds have become a feature of the One-Day Cup and this will continue. 8 outgrounds so far are set to host One-Day Cup fixtures and the Finals will once again be played at Trent Bridge on the 16th of September.

(Inputs sourced from ECB media release)

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here