Railways beat Bengal by 6 Wickets to Clinch Title of Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

The Final of the Senior Women’s T20 League was played early in the day at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The Final had Railways, the 10-time title winners and defending champions looking for a hat-trick of title win in the tournament play 2-time runners-up, Bengal.

Railways beat Bengal by 6 Wickets to Clinch Title of Senior Women's T20 League 2022-23
Railways beat Bengal by 6 Wickets to Clinch Title of Senior Women’s T20 League 2022-23

1st innings : Bengal – 106/7 (20.0)

Bengal despite having won the toss and electing to bat first had a poor start as skipper, Mita Paul failed to provide her team with a start as she walked back with a 3-ball duck to her name and was followed by P Bala a couple of balls later on 0(2) in the very first over of the game. Opener, Deepti Sharma then had a brief partnership alongside a struggling P P Paul who soon departed on 2(12) with 17 on board early in the 5th over. Deepti then was partnered by Dhara Gujjar for a crucial 23-run, that saw curtains with the wicket of Deepti on 23(27) with 40 on board just inside the 10-over mark. Richa then walked in and partnered Dhara, but the slow-going partnership wasn’t the need of the hour. Nevertheless, the pair managed a 49-run stand that came to close with Dhara run out on 32(42) with 89 on board in the 18th over. A few late boundaries gave Bengal some sort of a target to defend as they edged past 100 and then departed Kashish Agarwal on 4(6) and Richa Ghosh on 32(26) in the final over with the team finishing on 106.

Railways with the ball had, K Anjali Sarvani with figures of 3/6 off her 3 overs lead the wickets chart that had Tanuja P Kanwer follow with 3 to her name off her 4 overs.

Also Read:  "Indian batters need to work on converting ones into two's," says Jaya Sharma

2nd innings : Railways – 108/4 (18.4)

The side in reply had openers, S Meghana and Nuzhat Parween provide the team with a platform off their 40-run opening stand that saw curtains with the wicket of Meghana on 19(21) with 40 on board inside 8 overs. A set Nuzhat was then partnered by D Hemalatha who got going aggressively and sucked pressure off Nuzhat. The 40-run stand between the two came to a close in the 15th over with Nuzhat walking back on 35(50) and off the very next ball, K Anjali Sarvani with a golden duck to her name followed. SR Mane had just got going and the Railways lost a wicket more with the set and striking, Hemalatha departing on 35(23) off the last ball of the 16th over with 94 on board. SR Mane and Sneh Rana closed the game out for the Railways in the 19th over remaining unbeaten on respective scores of 15(12) and 3(3).

Bengal with the ball had, Gouher Sultana top the wickets charts with a couple to her name and had Sukanya Parida and Mita Paul with a wicket each to their name follow.

Result : Railways won by 6 wickets

After 11 days and 129 games of action, the tournament has got its champions in Railways who with the win have claimed a hat-trick of title wins in the tournament, yet again following their wins from the 2019-20 and 2021-22 editions. With the win, Railways now have got a total of 11 such trophies in their cabinet as the ride of domination by the side continues.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here