Madhya Pradesh beat Karnataka to Win Women’s Under-19 T20 Trophy 2022

The ‘Women’s Under-19 T20 Trophy’ organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) got underway on the 1st of October and had it’s final played on the 17th of October between Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh. Below we’ve brought to you a report focusing on the business end of the tournament.


Madhya Pradesh beat Karnataka to Win Women's Under-19 T20 Trophy 2022. PC: BCCI
Madhya Pradesh beat Karnataka to Win Women’s Under-19 T20 Trophy 2022. PC: BCCI


The tournament had Karnataka, Andra, Delhi and Madhya Pradesh qualify for the Semi-Final (briefed at the end of the article). The Semi-Final between Karnataka and Andra saw the latter bowled out for a low score of 85 that Karnataka went on to chase down comfortably with 6 wickets and 2 overs in hand. The Semi-Final between Delhi and Madhya Pradesh saw the former bowled out for a low score of 42 and Madhya Pradesh in reply in 9.2 overs with 8 wickets in hands got to the finals and secured their berth in the Final alongside, Karnataka.


1st innings : Madhya Pradesh – 137/3 (20.0)

The side put in to bat first had openers, Kanishka Thakur and Shreya Dixit put on a fine start which guided the team’s total at a decent pace and shared a fifty-run opening stand. The opening 68-run stand saw curtains off the last ball of the 12th over with 68 on board as Shreya on 27(31) departed. Skipper, Soumya Tiwari walked out with intent and provided the team’s total a much-needed push as Kanishka on the other end got to her 50*. In the penultimate over, with 121 on board, the side lost their 2nd as Kanishka on 52(60) walked back. Sanskriti Gupta off the last ball of the innings was dismissed, but did well to score a quick 13 off 5 balls and with Soumya unbeaten on 36(25) the side closed out on 137.

Also Read:  Pakistan women's cricket team announced for World Cup Qualifiers 2017

Karnataka with the ball had Mithila Vinod and Niki Prasad register economical spells and bagged a wicket each finishing on respective figures of 20/1 (4) and 15/1 (4) and the 3rd and final wicket was picked by B G Tejashwini.

2nd innings : Karnataka – 111/9 (20.0)

The side in reply lost opener, Annapurana G Bhosale early on the score of 5(11) with 7 on board and Rakshitha Nayaka then partnered opener, Roshni Kiran. The pair stitched a 22-run stand that came to a close with the wicket of Rakshitha on 8(13) with 29 on board just inside the powerplay and soon lost a 3rd as Prerana G R on 1(4) departed. Skipper, Niki Prasad then partnered a set and striking, Roshini, for a 30-run stand that came to end with Niki departing on 7(13) with 61 on board. It wasn’t long before the side lost a couple more in quick succession as opener, Roshini’s knock came to an end on 47(33) and Mithila Vinod then departed on 2(4) with 72 on board at the start of the 15th over. Soumya Verma and B G Tejashwini then put on a 32-run stand that didn’t prove any good for Karnataka as the side got to 104/7 with the dismissal of B G Tejashwini on 15(12). Soumya Verma’s start too came to an end in the final over with 109 as she walked back with 19(20) against her name and the side closed out on 111/9, falling 26 short of the required.

Madhya Pradesh with the ball had Soumya Tiwari and Khushi Yadav bag 3 wickets each and registered figures of 3/17 (4) and 3/29 (4) respectively. On the wickets chart followed, Vaishnavi Sharma (2) and Dhani Buchade (1), while Sanskriti Gupta was the lone bowler without a wicket to her name, but had the most economical figures of 0/13 (4).

Also Read:  Nigeria makes a strong comeback and takes a lead of 2-1 in the bilateral series

Result : Madhya Pradesh won by 26 runs


The tournament as a whole was a brilliant one for champions, Madhya Pradesh, as they finish on an unbeaten high with 8 wins from 8 games in the tournament.

Runners up, Karnataka, early on in the tournament, had their 3rd match abandoned but overall had a brilliant tournament as the side managed to get a 6-match win streak that came to an end with a defeat in the Finals to Madhya Pradesh.

Delhi, the team had their opening game not register a result and had their 4th game, abandoned but overall, had a fine tournament with 5 wins off 6 games. The only defeat the side suffered was to Madhya Pradesh in the Semi-Final.

Andra, too were a side as good as the three above. The side put got to a double hat-trick of wins with 6 successive wins and the only defeat the side suffered, was on the big day to Karnataka in the Semi-Final.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here