Squad for Inaugural Edition of Women’s CPL 2022 Announced

The inaugural season of the Women’s CPL (Caribbean Premier League) will hit the stage on August 30. Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders will be the three teams that will feature in the competition. While the men’s CPL has been going on since 2013, it was long due that the women’s CPL was also introduced.


Final Preparations ahead of CPL19 Women’s T10 matches!
Final Preparations ahead of CPL19 Women’s T10 matches!


Pete Russell, Hero CPL’s CEO, said, “A Women’s CPL is the next logical step as we grow the brand, and we are very pleased that we have been able to make this a reality in 2022. We are grateful to the CWI, the Barbados Royals, the Guyana Amazon Warriors, and the Trinbago Knight Riders for working with us on this groundbreaking tournament and we look forward to showcasing the tremendous skills of all these talented players.”


Barbados Royals:

Hayley Matthews (captain), Shakera Selman, Reniece Boyce, Mandy Mangru, Britney Cooper, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Afy Fletcher, Qiana Joseph, Japhina Joseph, Chinelle Henry

Guyana Amazon Warriors:

Stafanie Taylor (captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Rashada Williams, Rachael Vincent, Kaysia Schultz, Chedean Nation, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shamilia Connell, Karishma Ramharack, Shabika Gajnabi, Zaida James

Trinbago Knight Riders:

Deandra Dottin (captain), Anisa Mohammed, Lee Ann Kirby, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, Natasha McLean, Sheneta Grimmond, Caneisha Isaac, Jannillea Glasgow, Steffie Soogrim, Shawnisha Hector

At present, each team has 11 players, including the domestic and international players from West Indies. The players have selected from a pool that Cricket West Indies’ selection committee put together. The selected 33 players represent the best talent from across the region. Additionally, each team will sign three overseas players to bring the squad size to 14. It is known that the overseas signings will be announced in the coming weeks.

Also Read:  Women's IPL is on the cards for March 2023

Ricky Skerritt, Cricket West Indies President, said, “This inaugural Women’s version of the CPL represents a huge upward step for West Indies cricket. I am grateful to all those in CPL and CWI who made it happen, especially the three pioneering franchises who have so willingly got on board.”

Quotes are sourced from CPLT20

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here