All-Women Match Officials team up for Howzat Legends League Cricket

To bring back the nostalgic memories of cricket, the legends of the game from India, Australia, England, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and other cricket nations will be competing in the inaugural edition of Legends League Cricket (LLC). Consisting of three teams – India Maharajas, Asia Lions, and World Giants, the league that has acquired Fantasy gaming platform, Howzat as its title sponsor, will be played at Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman January 20 onwards.

Howzat Legends League Cricket
Howzat Legends League Cricket


The league has brought a number of eminent personalities as its ambassador which includes the legendary women’s all-rounder Jhulan Goswami who has been appointed to promote Women’s Empowerment.

As reported by Times of Oman, Goswami who recently completed 20 years in international cricket, expressed her excitement saying,

“This is amazing. I feel proud and elated to represent the fraternity for such a wonderful cause and initiative. It was long due actually. I am looking forward to the Legends of the game taking on to the field once again and putting in their best to play competitive cricket. My best wishes to the match officials, I am sure they will do a brilliant job. This is going to be historic and path-breaking for Cricket as a sport,”

In order to further promote women’s participation in the sport, the league’s organizers announced an all-women Match Officials team comprising ICC-selected female umpires and match referees has been chosen for the first time ever in a men’s cricket league. The team includes India’s youngest female umpire Shubdha Bhosle Gaikwad along with South Africa’s Lauren Agenbag, Pakistan’s Humaira Farah, and Renee Montgomery from Hong Kong as the officiating umpires while Shandre Fritz from South Africa is chosen as the match referee.

Also Read:  5 Female Umpires who stood to officiate the ICC Women’s World T20 2020

The same report also saw a statement by the CEO of the league, Raman Raheja who said,

“Much has been spoken about uplifting and supporting women’s cricket over the years. ICC made significant steps last year in making Cricket gender-neutral. I think this was one such strong statement that we wanted to make by empowering the women officials to officiate the entire men’s league. They are all qualified and have been there right at the top level. I think we may be able to set a trend that will be picked up all over the world in days to come.”

Schedule for Legends League Cricket

Group League: Round 1

Date Match Venue
Thursday, January 20 India Maharajas v Asia Lions Al Amerat Cricket Stadium, Oman
Friday, January 21 World Giants v Asia Lions Al Amerat Cricket Stadium, Oman
Saturday, January 22 World Giants v India Maharajas Al Amerat Cricket Stadium, Oman
Sunday, January 23 Rest Day

 Group League: Round 2

Date Match Venue
Monday, January 24 Asia Lions v India Maharajas Al Amerat Cricket Stadium, Oman
Tuesday, January 25 Rest Day
Wednesday, January 26 India Maharajas v World Giants Al Amerat Cricket Stadium, Oman
Thursday, January 27 Asia Lions v World Giants Al Amerat Cricket Stadium, Oman
Friday, January 28 Rest Day

Grand Finale –
Saturday, January 29

Author of the poetry book ‘The Scent of Rhythm’, I am a passionate writer and a Sports enthusiast who writes on Cricket and plays Badminton.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here