Preview : Windies Women aim for automatic qualification to the 2021 Women’s World Cup

Following their sweep of the three-match T20I series against Ireland, WINDIES Women will now turn their attention to a multi-format tour of England. WINDIES Women and England Women will contest three One-Day Internationals and three T20Is, commencing Thursday, June 6 at Grace Road.

With ICC Women’s Championship points on the line, as both teams look to qualify for the 2021 World Cup; the seventh-ranked WINDIES Women will be more desperate than the English, who only require a further two victories to achieve automatic qualification. The top four teams, along with the hosts, will automatically qualify for the tournament, to be hosted in New Zealand. WINDIES Women will be without Deandra Dottin in their quest, while England are near full-strength.

England, who are the favourites, are themselves coming off of a clean sweep of Sri Lanka–in Sri Lanka–in their last ODI series. The West Indies, on the other hand, gave up a 1-0 lead away from home to Pakistan to concede the latest ODI series they contested.

The odds are stacked against the West Indies as this talented team aims to dodge qualifiers as a means to the 2021 World Cup.

Series schedule:

First ODI: Grace Road-June 6, 9am ECT/8am Jamaica time.

Second ODI: New Road Worcester-June 9, 6am ECT/5am Jamaica time. 

Third ODI: Essex County Cricket Club-June 13, 9am ECT/8am Jamaica time.

West Indies squad: Stafanie Taylor (capt), Shemaine Campbelle, Britney Cooper, Afy Fletcher, Chinelle Henry, Stacy-Ann King, Kycia Knight (wk), Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman.

England squad: Heather Knight (capt) , Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Alex Hartley, Jenny Gunn, Amy Jones, Laura Marsh, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor (wk), Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danni Wyatt. 

Also Read:  Key Players to watch out in ICC WT20 2018 - Part 1

Liked the story? Leave a comment here