ICC allocates points for cancelled series, India qualifies for Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021

The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window.

Smriti Mandhana celebrates her century. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)
Smriti Mandhana celebrates her century. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)


In respect of the India v Pakistan series, the TC concluded the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan that forms part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

Meanwhile, two other ICC Women’s Championship series has been canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand in the last round of matches.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both Boards, it was unable to take place.

All eight teams in the 2017-2020 edition of the ICC Women’s Championship play each other in the three-match series. The host of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021, New Zealand, and the next four highest-placed teams on the points table qualify directly for One-Day International cricket’s pinnacle event.

Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) completed the table.

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is scheduled to be played from 3-19 July in Sri Lanka, this is subject to review due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The 10 teams vying for the three remaining places in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 will be the hosts, Sri Lanka, along with Pakistan and West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, the two other teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, and the winners of the five regional qualifiers – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and the Netherlands (Europe).

Also Read:  “It wasn’t an overnight decision” - Mithali Raj opens up on T20 retirement

Here’s the Points Table:

Pos Team Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Points
1 Australia 21 17 1 0 3 37
2 England 21 14 6 0 1 29
3 South Africa 21 10 6 1 4 25
4 India 21 10 8 0 3 23
5 Pakistan 21 7 9 1 4 19
6 New Zealand 21 7 11 0 3 17
7 West Indies 21 6 14 0 1 13
8 Sri Lanka 21 1 17 0 3 5

This is a Media Release by ICC

Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here