Women’s T20 Challenge will have a Fourth team this year

On Saturday, The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that Jaipur will host the Women’s T20 Challenge during the Indian Premier League Playoff week in May. This is the second consecutive year for the Women’s T20 Challenge. There will be the fourth team added this year, with a total of seven matches. The fourth team, fixtures, names of players and the participating countries are yet to be announced.


Women's T20 Challenge Trophy in 2020
Women’s T20 Challenge Trophy. Pic Credits: BCCI

Earlier in 2019, there were 3 teams Supernovas, Velocity and Trailblazers with captains Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana respectively. The matches were expanded from a one-off match (in 2018) before an IPL qualifier to a week-long tournament (in 2019). There were three group games and a final in the inaugural edition.

Harmanpreet’s stunning half-century was a highlight moment that led her team Supernovas to a four-wicket win in the final match over team Velocity. The attendance for the final match was impressive at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium last year.

With the massive level of competitiveness and reach female cricket has successfully earned since last year, the Women’s T20 Challenge this year is expected to be even bigger.

Female Cricket is a digital news portal that aims to spread, share and celebrate the journey of our female cricketers around the world.

Also Read:  Complete Schedule of Indian Women's Cricket Team from Sept 2022 to Jan 2025
Join Our WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Follow us on Instagram Join Now

Liked the story? Leave a comment here