Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur to lead teams in Women’s T20 before IPL playoffs

Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur to lead teams in Women's T20 before IPL playoffs

It’s finally happening and we will witness the two icons of Indian women’s cricket Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur fight against each other in a T20 match to be played on 22nd May at Wankhede Stadium. 

BCCI was in talks with several boards. New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates, attacking batter Sophie Devine, who holds the record for fastest half-century in women’s T20Is, Australia’s all-rounder Ellyse Perry, wicket-keeper bat Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have confirmed their participation.

Danni Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour. This special game will be played at Mumbai’s iconic Wankhede Stadium and will be telecast live via Star Sports in India and across the world.

Final Squad:

Team 1: Supernovas: Kaur, Bhatia, Gayakwad, Krishnamurthy, Meshram, Patil, Raj, Vastrakar, Devine, Lanning, Perry, Schutt, Wyatt
Team 2: Trailblazers: Mandhana, Bisht, Goswami, Hemalatha, Pandey, Rodrigues, Sharma, Poonam Yadav, Bates, Hazell, Healy, Mooney, Tahuhu

Diana Edulji, member of Committee of Administrators (CoA) and former India captain, said, “We are excited to announce the first-of-its-kind exhibition match involving our women cricketers. BCCI has been pulling out all stops to promote and nurture women’s cricket and this is a small yet significant step towards a prospective league involving women’s stars in the future.”

The T20 match will begin at 14:00 IST and will be followed by the IPL 2018 Qualifier 1 at 19:00 IST.

Also Read

India meets Pakistan on 9th June 2018 in Asia Cup 2018

Loves all things female cricket

Also Read:  The Gentlemen’s Game: The Moments That Shook Cricket

Liked the story? Leave a comment here