Squad Analysis – Adelaide Strikers for Women’s Big Bash League 2021

Adelaide Strikers is one of the eight teams that will feature in the seventh edition of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). The WBBL starts from October 14. Adelaide Strikers have a strong squad of 15, out of which two are overseas players, including the South African duo of Dane van Niekerk and Laura Wolvaardt.

Laura Wolvaardt to play for Adelaide Strikers in WBBL07
Laura Wolvaardt to play for Adelaide Strikers in WBBL07


Squad: Darcie Brown, Katie Mack, Madeline Penna, Bridget Patterson, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Laura Wolvaardt, Tegan McPharlin, Sarah Coyte, Tahlia McGrath, Jemma Barsby, Dane van Niekerk, Nell Bryson-Smith, Annie O’Neil, Megan Schutt, Meagan Dixon

Squad analysis

Darcie Brown:

The young Australian seamer made quite an impression during the recently concluded India-Australia series. She made her international debut in that series. She featured in two ODIs and picked up five wickets. She was the joint highest wicket-taker in the ODI series, alongside Sophie Molineux. The right-arm quick has good pace and variations in her armoury.

Katie Mack:

The opening bat is an experienced domestic player, who plays for Australian Capital Territory. She also featured in the Hundred and was a part of the Birmingham Phoenix squad. Apart from batting, she also bowls occasional leg spin.

Madeline Penna:

The right arm leg spinner plays her domestic cricket for Australian Capital Territory. Prior to getting signed by Adelaide Strikers, she played for the Melbourne Stars in the WBBL.

Bridget Patterson:

She is an aggressive right-hand middle order bat and an excellent fielder. She can keep wickets too. She is a former member of the Australian Women’s Cricket Team development squad which toured Sri Lanka in early 2016.

Amanda-Jade Wellington:

The right arm leg spinner has played for Australia in 21 international matches and has picked up 27 wickets. She is a genuine wicket-taker and is known for her disciplined bowling. She was also a part of the Southern Brave squad in the Hundred.

Also Read:  History Made: Adelaide Strikers sign 16-year-old pacer Darcie Brown, youngest player ever

Laura Wolvaardt:

The right hand opening bat from South Africa is a seasoned campaigner having represented the Proteas in 95 international matches, including 33 T20Is. She has three half centuries and has scored 588 runs in 31 innings. She has a strike rate of 114.61.

Tegan McPharlin:

The wicket-keeper bat is one of the most experienced players in the Strikers’ squad. She is the former captain who has made great contributions with bat as well as with gloves. She has been a part of the squad since its inception. She claimed 10 catches and four stumpings from 13 matches last season. The right hand bat also scored more than 800 runs over the past two seasons in the Statewide Super First Grade competition.

Sarah Coyte:

The right arm seamer was a part of the Australian squad between 2010 and 2016 featuring in 81 matches, including 47 T20Is. She has 100 international wickets. She plays her domestic cricket for New South Wales.

Tahlia McGrath:

The talented all-rounder had a wonderful outing in the recently concluded multi-format series against India. Her contributions with bat and ball helped her to win the player of the series award for the three-match T20I tournament. She is a right hand bat and right arm seamer.

Jemma Barsby:

She is a unique kind of all-rounder. She is a left hand bat and with the ball is ambidextrous as she bowls right arm off spin and slow left arm orthodox. Prior to signing up for Strikers, she played for Brisbane Heat.

Dane van Niekerk:

The South African all-rounder is one of the best in the business. The Proteas’ skipper is a hard-hitting right hand bat and a right arm leg spinner. Leading Oval Invincibles in the Hundred, she led the side to championship. She was the player of the series in the Hundred.

Also Read:  Preview: 3rd ODI – South Africa vs West Indies Women | Fantasy XI | Players to Watch | Live Streaming

Nell Bryson-Smith:

The right-hand bat and a slow left-arm spinner is good all-rounder. She is expected to provide that variation to the Strikers’ bowling attack. Prior to signing up for Adelaide Strikers, she was a part of the Hobart Hurricanes.

Annie O’Neil:

She is a right-hand middle-order bat and bowls occasional leg-spin. She plays her domestic cricket for South Australia and was also the captain of the U-18 state side. The powerful batter had plundered the biggest score in Sturt Cricket Club’s long history with a 242 not out in 2017.

Megan Schutt:

The experienced Australian seamer is one of the best bowlers in the world. She is quick and aggressive with the ball. With an experience of 73 T20I in which she has scalped 96 wickets, Schutt will lead Strikers’ bowling attack.

Meagan Dixon:

The right-arm quick plays her domestic cricket for Queensland. Apart from bowling, she is more than handy with the bat. She is a right-handed batter.

Follow us on Twitter for all the live updates throughout WBBL. 

I am a former cricketer having represented Mumbai University at All India University level. I was a part of MCA probables for the U-19 and U-23 age group. I have been an avid cricket writer for the last five years. Currently I am pursuing my Ph.D from IIT Bombay.

Liked the story? Leave a comment here